Spicy Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very good except I adjusted it for my taste. I substituted with canned pinto beans, no potatoes, a little small macaroni, no ketchup. Could not find any of that garlic flavored sausage, but we have lots of other kinds, so I used one of those garlic flavored ones. I doubt many Southern cooks serve sweet soup, unless it happens to be a cream pie that did not set up, then we make our pie crust into baked triangles, make little meringues, place the warm soup into a tiny bowl with a saucer' put the pie crust triangle leaned against the bowl, top with the meringue, and sprinkle the whole thing with powdered sugar or cocoa powder depending on which kind of "soup" you have made. Unless its burned, don't throw anything away! Improvise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I assumed because of the ketchup that it would be a little too sweet for me, so I added a can of Rotel sauce to spice it up a bit. It added just the kick that I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Streeter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I give this a so so rating because it gave me a good starting point. I used the recipe as a base and changed the following: added 3 cloves garlic with onion used spicy pizza sauce instead of ketchup and only used half the amount I used turkey sausages instead of pork to cut calories I omitted the pasta After testing it at the end it was pretty bland so I added 1Tbsp of curry powder, 1/2tsp chili powder and 1/4 tsp of anise Love the adaptations!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This soup is a favorite at all the family gatherings in Florida. We all come from Fairhaven MA, and grew up with many of our Portuguese meals made by our grandmother and our great aunts. Tastes like being back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was ok for me it was a little to sweet....I cut the ketchup in half....if I make this again I will leave out the potato and use less pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I treated this recipe as a skeleton and made changes based on what I had around the kitchen. I substituted one can of tomato soup instead of the full amount of ketchup, used just half a pound of polish sausage, and added extra cherry tomatoes and sun-dried tomatoes I had hanging around. A shake or two of cayenne pepper is very nice also. Be sure and eat it the next day, because the onion soup flavor is overpowering until all the other flavors have a chance to mix and come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Holy Cats is this ever good, Scotty! Many thanks. I might even make this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I have been asked for this recipe every time I've made this for someone new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I am 75% Portuguese and I grew up on this soup. My 86 year old full-blooded Portuguese Grandmother STILL makes me this soup every time I visit. It is a cultural thing! It isn't for everyone, but for those of us who grew up on this ethnic taste, it is like a trip back in time. My husband, and honorary Portguese, has struggled to "duplicate" my Grandmother's recipe AND my mother's. He can't do it. This soup comes close. Thanks, Scotty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I love this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States