Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I love this recipe. The only change I make: chicken quarters rather than a whole chicken. I sprinkle the spices under the chicken skin and then rub some on the outside as well. Family eats it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruhshellmc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I roasted the chicken, without the spices. When it was done and cooled down, I shredded the meat and added the spices. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDabis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was such a great recipe!! I did a couple of minor changes to the seasoning though. First, I mixed 4 tbsp salt, and 1 tbsp of the other listed ingredients. Then I added 1 tbsp. of garlic powder and onion powder and thyme; as well as added an extra 1 tbsp. of paprika (I use smoked paprika and its amazing). Oh, I cooked 2- 5 1/2 lb. young chickens too...but this much seasoning gave me plenty to completely cover both sides of the chicken as well as under the breast skin and inside the cavity. I cut up leeks and shallots and put inside the cavity for extra flavor. I put parchment paper in the bottom of the pan and sprayed it with Olive Oil Pam. I cooked the chicken covered,breast side down, and flipped it over and uncovered it for the last 20 minutes so the skin would be crispy. The cook time was about 1 hr 50 minutes for 2- 5 1/2 lb chickens. The flavor was amazing and everyone loved it, so this will be a regular recipe around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I added celery and Rosemary to the cavity also Rosemary around & top of the bird also used garlic oil. My husband was running late so I shut off the oven and let it coast in the oven for 45 minuets after the cooking time was up and it was the best roasted chicken we have ever had. I was a skeptic with no truss and no rack? Legs and wings were not burnt, chicken was brown all over, and no cleaning of the roasting rack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Sippel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is a delicious recipe, but my chicken took much longer to cook than the times stated. It was 8:30pm before we got to eat dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Loved this recipe.......Doubled the seasonings. Cooked a 5+ pound bird so I added 30 minutes to the cooking time. Cooked the chicken breast side down for the first hour and then removed excess fat and turned breast side up. Added potatoes for the last 40 minutes and came out with a great meal. Not greasy, healthy if you remove the skin. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is fantastic! Loved it so much, I am making it again next week. Since I was only making a dinner for two, I used chicken breasts instead of a full chicken. Baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and it came out perfect. Would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is one of my favorite ways to cook chicken to date! First of all, I made very minor changes. I used smoked paprika instead of regular, and doubled the spices and increased the oil by 50% because I used a large chicken (almost 6 pounds). I mixed the herbs and oil together and used it as a wet rub to rub down the outside *and* the inside cavity. The result was juicy meat, flavorful skin, drippings that made a great gravy, and all very easily put together. This will be a repeat, for sure. I had no issues with smoking (possibly because I made the rub wet?) and the skin was nicely crisped but not excessively browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Super easy and came out perfectly cooked. Docked a star because it could have used more flavour - it was pretty bland. But I'll definitely use it again with a different seasoning mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was awesome! Moist and juicy chicken that's quick and easy to cook and prepare, and with a family that includes two hungry teens, tonnes of leftovers are NOT an issue. Made exactly as recipe because honey likes spicy and eats the skin, he almost thought it was too hot! Could make with any rub you'd like, like rosemary/thyme, or garlic, endless delicious opportunities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States