Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I used an organic chicken and it was heavenly. Yes, they are more expensive, but the result is phenomenally better. This recipe produces a bird with crisp tasty skin and moist meat. I always try recipes as published the first time. Next time I will increase the amount of the spices and will stuff the cavity with citrus. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
perfectly delicious..used a 5 lb chicken,put 1/2 onion and garlic cloves in cavity (did not pat dry or trim) sprayed entire chicken with I can;t believe its not butter..then sprinkled my spice mixture over both sides of chicken to coat the entire bird. 500 oven for 20 mins then 400 for 45 mins ...I used 1 tsp each of: blk pepper,paprika,cayenne,italian seasoning. 1/2 tsp each :chili powder,salt,basil,onionpowder,garlic powder. I cooked it in enamel coated cast iron oval baking dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Great tasting but cooking at the high temperatures as recommended makes for a very greasy and dirty oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I'm not sure why there are reviews saying this chicken is dry...I have made it over 10 times with very consistant results...meaning a very tasty, moist chicken (with no cover on the chicken)! I truly appreciate a recipe as yummy and quick as this one! My husband asks for this at least once a week and I'm happy to oblige. I love how the skin gets crisp and how the chicken stays moist...I'm pretty sure I add more paprika (I use smoked) to the mix and use fresh oregano from my garden and stuff the inside of the bird with it as well as putting it on the skin with the other herbs. I also cut a lemon in half and also put it in the cavity...but the recipe is just as good on it's own. I always serve this with dilled carrots and roasted rosmary new potatoes. Thanks Nancy for a wonderful, quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I love this recipe...fix it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good, and the kitchen smelled great while it was roasting ! As others have recommended, I doubled the spices and herbs (except for the salt), but otherwise followed the recipe. Served it with a side combo of mashed potato, sweet potato and carrot, and a side of green beans. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent. If you do not eat the skin (I don't), try chopping the herbs - use more fresh - and mix with a little more olive oil. Instead of sprinkling on top -- stuff under the skin. Use your finger to loosen skin from meat and push the herb mixture down. Very moist and tasty. You also can us fresh thyme, rosemary and sage. Also stuff halved onion or lemon inside cavity with some more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Made this recipe last night and it was a HUGE hit! Roast chicken is my hubby's all-time favorite meal. This was great as it sears the outside and locks in the juices, so delicious. Will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe for chicken! I have this already saved & it's my go-to every time I roast chicken. Smoke? I don't know how that happens to some - it's never been a problem here.. I have a small amount of trouble timing out a larger chicken; around here you can't FIND anything smaller than 4.5 lbs. or so if you're lucky. This chicken has ALWAYS come out perfectly when roasted as directed time-wise. I agree there is not much 'spice flavor' if you don't eat the skin; however, I find draining most of the the "fats" & using the juice for making gravy (I don't because I have no success w/homemade gravy!) - or an "au jus" type of thing as I do makes for an excellent taste for those who miss that spice flavor.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Just wanted to say that this cooks absolutely brilliantly! Any comment about smoke I'm going to make a comment now that those people will not like but hey they started the smoke comments. CLEAN YOUR OVEN! Simple as that and as for comment re the flavour being "OK" or "Good flavour but nothing to write home about", well I'd recommend those people buying some fresh herbs and spices and not use the ones that have been sat in a cupboard for years! This is a very tasty well cooked bird with tons of flavour. PS. How did those people not cook it properly? (The ones who needed to cook their chicken for more time or in the microwave!) D'oh! I think you have done something incredibly wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

Displaying results 121-130 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States