Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Fairly quick and pretty tasty. It wasn't dry at all. I need to 1.5 times or double the spices though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I was very skeptical about trying this roasting method, but I had a whole chicken that HAD to be cooked last night and I definitely didn't have 2+ hours to do it. I was pleasantly surprised with the results! The meat was juicy and extremely tender. I did have the same smoke issue as other reviewers, even though I put water in the bottom of the roasting pan two or three times during the cooking process. It wasn't enough to make me not want to use this method again, though. The only truly negative part about this is that the spices don't have a chance to penetrate the meat, so while the skin is very tasty, the meat is fairly bland. I think I'd like to try marinating the chicken with the dry rub all day, putting some of the spices under the skin and in the cavity, and then using the rapid-roast cooking method to see if that allows the flavors to penetrate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is great, as is. One thing I try to do - add some herb butter under the skint on the breast meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Excellent recipe, very moist and loved the crispy spiced skin. I upped the spices just a bit for our preference. Hubby loved it, he ate almost half the bird himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made this exactly as stated with an exception of time, because I had a 5 lb chicken. I sprinkled the seasonings inside cavity and all over the outside of the chicken. I roasted this breast side down. Turned out so moist and juicy! I almost had a full serving as I was carving the chicken in the kitchen! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdaysie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Really easy recipe and it was delicious! My chicken was already cut up so I reduced the cook time to 30min and broiled it on high for about the last 3min. The breast came out a little dry, but everything else was fantastic. So next time I will reduce the temp down to 350 and cook 25min. When you pull the chicken out of the oven I would spoon the drippings over the chicken and cover with foil and let it rest for at least 10min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbynum87

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is good, but I usually use a full cup of oregano and a 22 pound turkey instead of the chicken. Love love love to cook! -- Luke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
this was good but the smoke set my fire alarm off many times. even with vent fan on and windows open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I had a 4-1/2# chicken, so I cooked mine a bit longer till the temp was 180. This was very good. I would use this recipe again when cooking a whole chicken after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Four stars for the technique, even though I over-cooked mine by about 15 minutes...The spice mixture needed a bit more pizazz,which I did just by adding garlic/rosemary seasoning & onion powder, then rubbed the spices over & under the skin. My chicken was on the heavier side & still a bit frozen in the middle so I adjusted the cook times to 30 minutes & 1 hour (breast down)which resulted in dry legs & breast (though the breats weren't as dry as the legs). It was my fault & next time I'll keep my version of the seasonings but use my digital probe thermometer & do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States