Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent. If you do not eat the skin (I don't), try chopping the herbs - use more fresh - and mix with a little more olive oil. Instead of sprinkling on top -- stuff under the skin. Use your finger to loosen skin from meat and push the herb mixture down. Very moist and tasty. You also can us fresh thyme, rosemary and sage. Also stuff halved onion or lemon inside cavity with some more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Made this recipe last night and it was a HUGE hit! Roast chicken is my hubby's all-time favorite meal. This was great as it sears the outside and locks in the juices, so delicious. Will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe for chicken! I have this already saved & it's my go-to every time I roast chicken. Smoke? I don't know how that happens to some - it's never been a problem here.. I have a small amount of trouble timing out a larger chicken; around here you can't FIND anything smaller than 4.5 lbs. or so if you're lucky. This chicken has ALWAYS come out perfectly when roasted as directed time-wise. I agree there is not much 'spice flavor' if you don't eat the skin; however, I find draining most of the the "fats" & using the juice for making gravy (I don't because I have no success w/homemade gravy!) - or an "au jus" type of thing as I do makes for an excellent taste for those who miss that spice flavor.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Just wanted to say that this cooks absolutely brilliantly! Any comment about smoke I'm going to make a comment now that those people will not like but hey they started the smoke comments. CLEAN YOUR OVEN! Simple as that and as for comment re the flavour being "OK" or "Good flavour but nothing to write home about", well I'd recommend those people buying some fresh herbs and spices and not use the ones that have been sat in a cupboard for years! This is a very tasty well cooked bird with tons of flavour. PS. How did those people not cook it properly? (The ones who needed to cook their chicken for more time or in the microwave!) D'oh! I think you have done something incredibly wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This is how I've roasted my chickens for years. It's a wonderful method for preparing a juicy, succulent chicken. The only changes I make are that I put a halved onion, a whole lemon which I've pierced all over with a sharp knife, and a handful of fresh rosemary in the cavity. mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This chicken was wonderful! I cooked it at the same temp as the recipe said to and had NO problems with smoke or it being under-cooked like others. It was perfectly done after the hour the recipe called for. I also took the advice of another person and roasted the chicken breast side down in the pan. It was WONDERFUL! The breasts were soooo tender! I had a 3-4 pound chicken so I doubled all the seasonings. I also did a half teaspoon of cayane pepper. Next time I will use more of the cayane, I really like spicy foods and it was very mild even after using four times the recommended amount. EXCELLENT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I fixed this for lunch when my sister and brother in law came and it was fantastic. I roasted it in an enamel covered cast iron oval dish coated with olive oil spray for easy clean up........... The spices and high heat combine for a succulent chicken. BTW it makes lovely gravy that we used on our chicken and our Yukon Gold potatoes that I served with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Too dry - I 'll go back to using the "Juicy Roasted Chicken" recipe on the site. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Photo by Souza'sGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
ok... so the only reason i didn't give 5 stars is because i only used the seasoning from this recipe for my roasted chicken. mainly because i find that the longer you roast your chicken, the juicy & more tender it comes out. the seasoning was AWESOME! i also added 5 halved garlic cloves into the cavity of the chicken & baked @ 350 for 2 hours. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Chicken was moist and the skin was crispy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEllison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States