Spicy Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
The blend of spices is wonderful! All the times I've made this soup, I've never used the pumpkin. I made it with fresh yams not its lighter colored cousin sweet potato. I used enough yams to equal the pumpkin and sweet potato. Peeled, slathered in the savory garlic spice paste, then roasted. I froze the first batch for a camping trip and it was a hit! I've made this several time since using my own chicken stock and Kitchen Basics Chicken and Vegetable stock for a veg/vegan version. Using homemade stock resulted in a more velvety texture probably because there was a little more fat. I've used a hand blender which is the least messy and my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made the soup and it tasted like it was missing something. I didn't have fennel seeds but I really don't think that would make the soup. But maybe! As it wasn't very flavorful, I popped open a can of coconut milk as per reviewer suggestion and added half in. It still tasted just ok. I mean it is good. Just not tasty. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Spice overpowered pumpkin flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the advice from other reviewers and added a can of coconut milk. I also added 1 tsp. of curry, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tbsp. of brown sugar. YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLATO712

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This recipe didn't go over well with my family. My 3-year-old says it's too spicy, and wouldn't eat it. I think it is edible, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this soup exactly as the recipe states and it is amazing. Love the taste and texture of the soup. I am still deciding if I want to add in the coconut milk as suggested by another because I love cream soups. But I love it just as it stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Way to go, Simon!! This soup was awesome.!! I added a bit more cumin and a couple shakes of curry, plus some sauteed hot Italian sausage (chicken, not pork) and used canned pumpkin instead. I'm going to have some tomorrow for lunch, 3rd day in a row which is saying ALOT about the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! If you are a person that really likes strong spices, this soup is for you. Delicious. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmecky78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
pretty darn good but very time consuming. I increased the spices slightly (Didn't really measure though). consistency was not terribly smooth but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
A little more spicy than I had expected. I had not used coriander before, so that was a new experience. Still, rather tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States