Spicy Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made the soup and it tasted like it was missing something. I didn't have fennel seeds but I really don't think that would make the soup. But maybe! As it wasn't very flavorful, I popped open a can of coconut milk as per reviewer suggestion and added half in. It still tasted just ok. I mean it is good. Just not tasty. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Spice overpowered pumpkin flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the advice from other reviewers and added a can of coconut milk. I also added 1 tsp. of curry, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tbsp. of brown sugar. YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLATO712

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This recipe didn't go over well with my family. My 3-year-old says it's too spicy, and wouldn't eat it. I think it is edible, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this soup exactly as the recipe states and it is amazing. Love the taste and texture of the soup. I am still deciding if I want to add in the coconut milk as suggested by another because I love cream soups. But I love it just as it stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Way to go, Simon!! This soup was awesome.!! I added a bit more cumin and a couple shakes of curry, plus some sauteed hot Italian sausage (chicken, not pork) and used canned pumpkin instead. I'm going to have some tomorrow for lunch, 3rd day in a row which is saying ALOT about the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! If you are a person that really likes strong spices, this soup is for you. Delicious. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmecky78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
pretty darn good but very time consuming. I increased the spices slightly (Didn't really measure though). consistency was not terribly smooth but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
A little more spicy than I had expected. I had not used coriander before, so that was a new experience. Still, rather tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
YUMMY! I made this with a Squash instead of Pumpkin since I was given a home-grown squash by a friend. I also added coconut milk and curry spices and then garnished with coriander. It was bloody good! Whenever I make soup, I have to make a HUGE CAULDRON of it and I have several single friends who dislike cooking for one as much as I do! So I have started a 'Soup-of-the-Week' Club where I dole out portions of soup to my friends and neighbours. And they all said that this was one of the best soups I have ever made - very high praise after over a year of soup every week! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did! Sara Ottawa, ON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States