Spicy Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I used less chicken broth - 2 pints and 1 big sweet potato. I also roasted a whole bulb of garlic and threw that in the puree. I changed the spices to cumin, oregano, salt, peppercorns, and TJ's smoke seasoning. Added 1 T of butter, would've used ghee if I had it. Omitted the onion and olive oil. Came out wonderful! Flavors are on the palate far after you are done eating:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
OMG this recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I didn't have a pumpkin but did have most of a can of puree leftover that I wanted to use up. Also didn't have most of the whole spices but did have ground versions and it all came together in a melange of orange deliciousness. I ate almost half the pot by myself, topped with crisp bacon and blue cheese crumbles as I'd seen recommended in a similar recipe. This one is definitely a keeper and I can't wait to see how the flavors have developed when I have the rest of it for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
The blend of spices is wonderful! All the times I've made this soup, I've never used the pumpkin. I made it with fresh yams not its lighter colored cousin sweet potato. I used enough yams to equal the pumpkin and sweet potato. Peeled, slathered in the savory garlic spice paste, then roasted. I froze the first batch for a camping trip and it was a hit! I've made this several time since using my own chicken stock and Kitchen Basics Chicken and Vegetable stock for a veg/vegan version. Using homemade stock resulted in a more velvety texture probably because there was a little more fat. I've used a hand blender which is the least messy and my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made the soup and it tasted like it was missing something. I didn't have fennel seeds but I really don't think that would make the soup. But maybe! As it wasn't very flavorful, I popped open a can of coconut milk as per reviewer suggestion and added half in. It still tasted just ok. I mean it is good. Just not tasty. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Spice overpowered pumpkin flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the advice from other reviewers and added a can of coconut milk. I also added 1 tsp. of curry, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tbsp. of brown sugar. YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLATO712

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This recipe didn't go over well with my family. My 3-year-old says it's too spicy, and wouldn't eat it. I think it is edible, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this soup exactly as the recipe states and it is amazing. Love the taste and texture of the soup. I am still deciding if I want to add in the coconut milk as suggested by another because I love cream soups. But I love it just as it stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Way to go, Simon!! This soup was awesome.!! I added a bit more cumin and a couple shakes of curry, plus some sauteed hot Italian sausage (chicken, not pork) and used canned pumpkin instead. I'm going to have some tomorrow for lunch, 3rd day in a row which is saying ALOT about the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! If you are a person that really likes strong spices, this soup is for you. Delicious. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmecky78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States