Spicy Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is such a warm, filling, aromatic soup. Perfect for winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe! I served it for thanksgiving dinner with a small slice of goat cheese at the bottom of the bowl, which added to the silky texture and perfectly complimented the spice! It was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Had we not been eating grilled "pumpkin" (kabocha here in Japan) rind and all for years, I might have been wary of this recipe. BUT you CAN eat the rind, folks! Simon's spice blend was just so tasty. I used a smallish kabocha, eight inch diameter, and one can of sweet potatoes, drained. I had about two and a half cups of chicken stock in the freezer which had half a large carrot cooked in, so used that and added cans of broth until I got the thickness desired (using a hand held blender and puree'ing directly in the cookpot). The flavor was really good. I serve with toasted wedges of pita bread, which seems a good match, as the soup is quite thick, even having "thinned" it, so wedges can be dipped to good advantage. Even with the smallish kabocha and using only 1 tin of potatoes, I had lots and lots of soup, and now besides the quart in my freezer, there's another meal's worth in the fridge. Good return on time invested. Thanks, Simon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Way to go, Simon!! This soup was awesome.!! I added a bit more cumin and a couple shakes of curry, plus some sauteed hot Italian sausage (chicken, not pork) and used canned pumpkin instead. I'm going to have some tomorrow for lunch, 3rd day in a row which is saying ALOT about the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! If you are a person that really likes strong spices, this soup is for you. Delicious. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmecky78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
i've made this soup twice now and it's abolutely delicious. however i'm a lover of spices, and found that the amount of pumpkin and pototoes in the original recipe are too much in relation to the amount of spices used. therefore, 2nd time round, i only used about half the amount of potatoes, and the result was much better. think i chucked in a few extra cloves of garlic too. ;) **UPDATE**: i've since realised that the sweet potatoes i get here in the netherlands are *huge* in comparison to the size in other countries - an average sweet potato weighs 400 grams - that's probably why i found that there was too much potato in the recipe. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I love this recipe! I also tried roasting the spices before grinding them, and used a larger quantity of sweet potato wedges- the extras make a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I made this soup last night - delicious! ... used vegetable broth instead of chicken for a perfect vegetarian meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Thank you to Simon for this very yummy soup! The spices were perfect! Simon may have stumbled on the Colonel's secret herbs and spices.... My kitchen smelt like KFC. Very easy to make which is a good thing for busy Mums and Dads. My very fussy 12 year old loved it! Joy! I served with sour cream and oven baked rolls. I will toast the herbs next time as suggested as this does bring out flavour and intensity. Winner! Smiles from Australia(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This soup was delicious and a great variation on a family favourite. We served as a starter for a very important dinner party and each guest was amazed at the delicate flavour the spices created. Will defintely use again!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States