Spicy Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
i've made this soup twice now and it's abolutely delicious. however i'm a lover of spices, and found that the amount of pumpkin and pototoes in the original recipe are too much in relation to the amount of spices used. therefore, 2nd time round, i only used about half the amount of potatoes, and the result was much better. think i chucked in a few extra cloves of garlic too. ;) **UPDATE**: i've since realised that the sweet potatoes i get here in the netherlands are *huge* in comparison to the size in other countries - an average sweet potato weighs 400 grams - that's probably why i found that there was too much potato in the recipe. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I made this soup last night - delicious! ... used vegetable broth instead of chicken for a perfect vegetarian meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I love this recipe! I also tried roasting the spices before grinding them, and used a larger quantity of sweet potato wedges- the extras make a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
YUMMY! I made this with a Squash instead of Pumpkin since I was given a home-grown squash by a friend. I also added coconut milk and curry spices and then garnished with coriander. It was bloody good! Whenever I make soup, I have to make a HUGE CAULDRON of it and I have several single friends who dislike cooking for one as much as I do! So I have started a 'Soup-of-the-Week' Club where I dole out portions of soup to my friends and neighbours. And they all said that this was one of the best soups I have ever made - very high praise after over a year of soup every week! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did! Sara Ottawa, ON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe! I served it for thanksgiving dinner with a small slice of goat cheese at the bottom of the bowl, which added to the silky texture and perfectly complimented the spice! It was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This soup was delicious and a great variation on a family favourite. We served as a starter for a very important dinner party and each guest was amazed at the delicate flavour the spices created. Will defintely use again!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Thank you to Simon for this very yummy soup! The spices were perfect! Simon may have stumbled on the Colonel's secret herbs and spices.... My kitchen smelt like KFC. Very easy to make which is a good thing for busy Mums and Dads. My very fussy 12 year old loved it! Joy! I served with sour cream and oven baked rolls. I will toast the herbs next time as suggested as this does bring out flavour and intensity. Winner! Smiles from Australia(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I thought this recipe was okay... I liked the "spice rub" idea and the flavor was great but I couldn't get the consistency to come out right. I put it back into the food processor twice to get it creamier with no luck. I added cream and that helped, but not nearly as healthy! I may keep working on it, but not our favorite as it is right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
i really liked this recipe. the preparation of the pumpkin and sweet potatoes took a long time, but it was well worth it. i'm still eating the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Way to go, Simon!! This soup was awesome.!! I added a bit more cumin and a couple shakes of curry, plus some sauteed hot Italian sausage (chicken, not pork) and used canned pumpkin instead. I'm going to have some tomorrow for lunch, 3rd day in a row which is saying ALOT about the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States