Spicy Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
A little more spicy than I had expected. I had not used coriander before, so that was a new experience. Still, rather tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
YUMMY! I made this with a Squash instead of Pumpkin since I was given a home-grown squash by a friend. I also added coconut milk and curry spices and then garnished with coriander. It was bloody good! Whenever I make soup, I have to make a HUGE CAULDRON of it and I have several single friends who dislike cooking for one as much as I do! So I have started a 'Soup-of-the-Week' Club where I dole out portions of soup to my friends and neighbours. And they all said that this was one of the best soups I have ever made - very high praise after over a year of soup every week! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did! Sara Ottawa, ON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Everything was great here except I added a can of coconut cream (it really added a silky richness) and some freshly chopped coriander and cashews as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Had we not been eating grilled "pumpkin" (kabocha here in Japan) rind and all for years, I might have been wary of this recipe. BUT you CAN eat the rind, folks! Simon's spice blend was just so tasty. I used a smallish kabocha, eight inch diameter, and one can of sweet potatoes, drained. I had about two and a half cups of chicken stock in the freezer which had half a large carrot cooked in, so used that and added cans of broth until I got the thickness desired (using a hand held blender and puree'ing directly in the cookpot). The flavor was really good. I serve with toasted wedges of pita bread, which seems a good match, as the soup is quite thick, even having "thinned" it, so wedges can be dipped to good advantage. Even with the smallish kabocha and using only 1 tin of potatoes, I had lots and lots of soup, and now besides the quart in my freezer, there's another meal's worth in the fridge. Good return on time invested. Thanks, Simon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I've tried this recipe several times with a few variations. I've used coconut milk in it to make it creamier. I've also added curry. I love it, but it's not exactly the most popular when I make it. I think it's mostly people who don't like pumpkin or sweet potato that dislike it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is such a warm, filling, aromatic soup. Perfect for winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe! I served it for thanksgiving dinner with a small slice of goat cheese at the bottom of the bowl, which added to the silky texture and perfectly complimented the spice! It was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Thank you to Simon for this very yummy soup! The spices were perfect! Simon may have stumbled on the Colonel's secret herbs and spices.... My kitchen smelt like KFC. Very easy to make which is a good thing for busy Mums and Dads. My very fussy 12 year old loved it! Joy! I served with sour cream and oven baked rolls. I will toast the herbs next time as suggested as this does bring out flavour and intensity. Winner! Smiles from Australia(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I thought this recipe was okay... I liked the "spice rub" idea and the flavor was great but I couldn't get the consistency to come out right. I put it back into the food processor twice to get it creamier with no luck. I added cream and that helped, but not nearly as healthy! I may keep working on it, but not our favorite as it is right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This soup was delicious and a great variation on a family favourite. We served as a starter for a very important dinner party and each guest was amazed at the delicate flavour the spices created. Will defintely use again!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States