Spicy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I like it with coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I too sautéed the onion and garlic first. I used half and half rather than cream, added about 2T brown sugar, and enjoyed it with a little honey as my garnish. It was good, but not "mmm, this is wonderful." But, the next day it was absolutely delicious!! My advice for this one would be to make it the night before giving all those wonderful flavors time to mix and mingle. I will definitely make it again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Like the other reviewers said, it is super easy. I sauteed the onions and used minced garlic, and the soup turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Wonderful! I doubled the recipe & added 1 tsp of raw sugar for a more mellow flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msaneholtz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was really easy. I made some modifications though. Since both my husband and I are lactose intolerant, I used coconut milk instead of cream and instead of cajun seasoning, I put in curry and tumeric. It made for a great Indian inspired soup. I think next time I'll add some corriander to the mix. I took the advice of others and sauteed the onions and garlic first. When I served the soup, I topped it with crumbled goat cheese (easier on our stomachs than other cheeses) and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GossamerWillow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Carmel, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Made this soup today to use up four cups of frozen pumpkin. Found the soup to need more seasonings for our tastes. Added extra tsp of Cajun seasoning to the double batch and extra clove of garlic as well. Also added some Magi Seasoning (about 2 tsp) which rounded out the flavor nicely. We chose not to add the cream this time as it tasted great on it own. Even the kids loved it! Served it with toasted Italian bread and white wine (not for the kids lol). Delicious!!! Loved how easy and quick this soup was to make! It's a keeper! Thanks Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made this "as is" but wasn't satisfied with the heat. I added some Crystal hot sauce, Worcester, black pepper and some garlic powder. Also, didn't have cream, so used half and half. I know people get excited with variations, but I like more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Made this lactose-free, and it's delicious! I substituted the heavy cream with 1/2 cup almond milk, 1 T cornstarch, 1/2 T flour. Next time, I'll make it with 1/2 cup lactose-free milk + cornstarch/flour mixture to help cut the heat a little bit and enjoy it more. Very good :-) Since I don't own an immersion blender, I mixed the milk, cornstarch, and flour in my blender, then added the soup a little bit at a time to puree the whole batch. I'm reading the reviews about sauteing the garlic and onion--wish I'd done that too! Overall, great recipe for leftover pumpkin puree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe and it was easy. Made some adjustments to lower the fat content. Used low-sodium broth and fat-free Half & Half. From my calculations it ended up as 4 WW points for the whole pot due to the high fiber in the pumpkin and the fat-free Half & Half. I also used the Spicy Hot Mrs. Dash instead of the Cajun spices. Had a nice texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States