Spicy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made this "as is" but wasn't satisfied with the heat. I added some Crystal hot sauce, Worcester, black pepper and some garlic powder. Also, didn't have cream, so used half and half. I know people get excited with variations, but I like more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Made this lactose-free, and it's delicious! I substituted the heavy cream with 1/2 cup almond milk, 1 T cornstarch, 1/2 T flour. Next time, I'll make it with 1/2 cup lactose-free milk + cornstarch/flour mixture to help cut the heat a little bit and enjoy it more. Very good :-) Since I don't own an immersion blender, I mixed the milk, cornstarch, and flour in my blender, then added the soup a little bit at a time to puree the whole batch. I'm reading the reviews about sauteing the garlic and onion--wish I'd done that too! Overall, great recipe for leftover pumpkin puree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe and it was easy. Made some adjustments to lower the fat content. Used low-sodium broth and fat-free Half & Half. From my calculations it ended up as 4 WW points for the whole pot due to the high fiber in the pumpkin and the fat-free Half & Half. I also used the Spicy Hot Mrs. Dash instead of the Cajun spices. Had a nice texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used vegetarian chicken flavored bullion, doubled the garlic and sautéed it with the onions and cajun seasoning (which I also doubled). Halfway through cooking I added white sugar and black pepper to taste. I only added about half the cream the recipe called for, I wanted to retain the orange color but I wouldn't leave the cream out because I like the texture it gave the soup. (It definitely could be omitted and it would be an awesome vegan recipe). This recipe is definitely a keeper!! The pumpkin cooked down so well, this is my first time cooking with pumpkin aside from desserts or bread and I am impressed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by winter_rogue
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I love this soup! This is a Fantastic recipe!! My family just couldn't get enough of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winter_rogue

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very easy recipe to make. The spice was just enough for my hubby and I. I didn't have any cream so we did without and it was still tasty! Next time I'll puree the onions after cooking them in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Good soup for a cold day. I read the reviews before cooking. I sauteed the onions and garlic first, and substituted a homemade spice mix since I had no cajun on hand. I put the batch through the blender before the simmering stage. I tried it without the cream and I didn't care for it. I added half-and-half to my bowl (had no cream on hand) and liked it better. The flavors continued to tease me around the like/not-like axis so I added a small dollop of local honey. OH WOW! Try it in your own bowl, it might not be for everyone, but it made this recipe into a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was a yummy soup, but it makes a lot so be ready for a lot of leftovers or (as I did) put half into the freezer for another meal later on--which is so nice! Also, in the future, I think I would add some andouille sausage for some protein and to make sure that it's a filling meal, or else serve it as an appetizer soup with a full meal coming behind it. Thanks--I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is a super easy recipe. I blended it to make it super smooth, and I made a few substitutions that worked really well for me. Instead of heavy cream, I used plain greek yogurt reducing the fat content and increasing the protein content of the dish. I also didn't have cajun seasoning, so I just sprinkled a bit of cayenne pepper into it. In addition, I added a bit of honey which was the best idea that I had when it came to this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
How simple and healthy!! Delicious. I used more cajun seasoning and less cream (it tasted great even before the cream but it definitely added a nice texture). Ran the immersion blender through it after it cooled a little and then heated it back up. It was just enough for the boyfriend and I as the main entree, so I'll probably make a double batch next time because I am wishing I had leftovers today! Paired with fresh rolls and a crisp pinot grigio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States