Spicy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is so darned easy and really tasty too. I did saute the garlic and onion for a couple of minutes in a little olive oil. I didn't add the cream to the whole batch of soup - those would wanted to tone down the spice could add some - I personally liked it without the cream and it saves a ton of calories. This might serve 4 as a first course but not 4 for dinner. Thanks for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I used fresh pumpkin for this and except for an immersion blender/finger/emergency room mishap, it went well. I served it for a brunch with friends with mirliton bread, salad and mushroom crepes and they LOVED it. I added a touch more seasoning to suit New Orleans' palates and used 1/2 fat-free half & half and 1/2 heavy cream. It was delicious. Thanks to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is fantastic--the recipe lends itself well to making changes and additions to suite your taste. I took the advice of another reviewer and sauteed the onion and garlic (needs much more than one clove!) for a few minutes. I added the cajun seasoning during this stage, and also added some cayenne pepper and sriracha sauce. I also decided to split the broth, adding half chicken and half chipotle bullion. It was easier to just add a teaspoon of heavy cream to each bowl served, adding a full cup (I doubled the recipe) seemed too decadent. Chives and a few blue cheese crumbles worked wonderful as a garnish. Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I used this as a bast to use up some open pumpkin and an acorn squash. Thanks, Cat, it worked well. I had to make a substitute for cajun spices, as I had none on hand. I pureed the squash and such after cooking, then added half n half at the finish, as that is what I had on hand. Alot of changes it seems, but your basic thoughts helped greatly. The soup turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA
Living In: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is a super easy recipe. I blended it to make it super smooth, and I made a few substitutions that worked really well for me. Instead of heavy cream, I used plain greek yogurt reducing the fat content and increasing the protein content of the dish. I also didn't have cajun seasoning, so I just sprinkled a bit of cayenne pepper into it. In addition, I added a bit of honey which was the best idea that I had when it came to this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used vegetarian chicken flavored bullion, doubled the garlic and sautéed it with the onions and cajun seasoning (which I also doubled). Halfway through cooking I added white sugar and black pepper to taste. I only added about half the cream the recipe called for, I wanted to retain the orange color but I wouldn't leave the cream out because I like the texture it gave the soup. (It definitely could be omitted and it would be an awesome vegan recipe). This recipe is definitely a keeper!! The pumpkin cooked down so well, this is my first time cooking with pumpkin aside from desserts or bread and I am impressed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Wonderfully tasty comfort food - a soup that is so easy to make yet it tastes like you spent hours making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very easy recipe to make. The spice was just enough for my hubby and I. I didn't have any cream so we did without and it was still tasty! Next time I'll puree the onions after cooking them in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States