Spicy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is so darned easy and really tasty too. I did saute the garlic and onion for a couple of minutes in a little olive oil. I didn't add the cream to the whole batch of soup - those would wanted to tone down the spice could add some - I personally liked it without the cream and it saves a ton of calories. This might serve 4 as a first course but not 4 for dinner. Thanks for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Wonderfully tasty comfort food - a soup that is so easy to make yet it tastes like you spent hours making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I used this as a bast to use up some open pumpkin and an acorn squash. Thanks, Cat, it worked well. I had to make a substitute for cajun spices, as I had none on hand. I pureed the squash and such after cooking, then added half n half at the finish, as that is what I had on hand. Alot of changes it seems, but your basic thoughts helped greatly. The soup turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA
Living In: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is fantastic--the recipe lends itself well to making changes and additions to suite your taste. I took the advice of another reviewer and sauteed the onion and garlic (needs much more than one clove!) for a few minutes. I added the cajun seasoning during this stage, and also added some cayenne pepper and sriracha sauce. I also decided to split the broth, adding half chicken and half chipotle bullion. It was easier to just add a teaspoon of heavy cream to each bowl served, adding a full cup (I doubled the recipe) seemed too decadent. Chives and a few blue cheese crumbles worked wonderful as a garnish. Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Just perfect. It was quite spicy and I wouldn't mind reducing the amount of cajun seasoning, but it was still amazing the way it was. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
So easy to make, and quite tasty. Perfect for a cold day! Will use a little less onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emvaller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I used fresh pumpkin for this and except for an immersion blender/finger/emergency room mishap, it went well. I served it for a brunch with friends with mirliton bread, salad and mushroom crepes and they LOVED it. I added a touch more seasoning to suit New Orleans' palates and used 1/2 fat-free half & half and 1/2 heavy cream. It was delicious. Thanks to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This turned out fantastic. We served it over white rice and leftover thanksgiving turkey and it tasted just like spicy yellow curry from the Thai restaurant. We made it with fresh pumpkin and did not have to change a thing. It did not have a strong pumpkin flavor at all, so even our picky eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
How simple and healthy!! Delicious. I used more cajun seasoning and less cream (it tasted great even before the cream but it definitely added a nice texture). Ran the immersion blender through it after it cooled a little and then heated it back up. It was just enough for the boyfriend and I as the main entree, so I'll probably make a double batch next time because I am wishing I had leftovers today! Paired with fresh rolls and a crisp pinot grigio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States