Spicy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Wonderfully tasty comfort food - a soup that is so easy to make yet it tastes like you spent hours making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is fantastic--the recipe lends itself well to making changes and additions to suite your taste. I took the advice of another reviewer and sauteed the onion and garlic (needs much more than one clove!) for a few minutes. I added the cajun seasoning during this stage, and also added some cayenne pepper and sriracha sauce. I also decided to split the broth, adding half chicken and half chipotle bullion. It was easier to just add a teaspoon of heavy cream to each bowl served, adding a full cup (I doubled the recipe) seemed too decadent. Chives and a few blue cheese crumbles worked wonderful as a garnish. Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I used this as a bast to use up some open pumpkin and an acorn squash. Thanks, Cat, it worked well. I had to make a substitute for cajun spices, as I had none on hand. I pureed the squash and such after cooking, then added half n half at the finish, as that is what I had on hand. Alot of changes it seems, but your basic thoughts helped greatly. The soup turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA
Living In: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Just perfect. It was quite spicy and I wouldn't mind reducing the amount of cajun seasoning, but it was still amazing the way it was. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I used fresh pumpkin for this and except for an immersion blender/finger/emergency room mishap, it went well. I served it for a brunch with friends with mirliton bread, salad and mushroom crepes and they LOVED it. I added a touch more seasoning to suit New Orleans' palates and used 1/2 fat-free half & half and 1/2 heavy cream. It was delicious. Thanks to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This turned out fantastic. We served it over white rice and leftover thanksgiving turkey and it tasted just like spicy yellow curry from the Thai restaurant. We made it with fresh pumpkin and did not have to change a thing. It did not have a strong pumpkin flavor at all, so even our picky eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
How simple and healthy!! Delicious. I used more cajun seasoning and less cream (it tasted great even before the cream but it definitely added a nice texture). Ran the immersion blender through it after it cooled a little and then heated it back up. It was just enough for the boyfriend and I as the main entree, so I'll probably make a double batch next time because I am wishing I had leftovers today! Paired with fresh rolls and a crisp pinot grigio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very easy recipe to make. The spice was just enough for my hubby and I. I didn't have any cream so we did without and it was still tasty! Next time I'll puree the onions after cooking them in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by winter_rogue
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I love this soup! This is a Fantastic recipe!! My family just couldn't get enough of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winter_rogue

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used vegetarian chicken flavored bullion, doubled the garlic and sautéed it with the onions and cajun seasoning (which I also doubled). Halfway through cooking I added white sugar and black pepper to taste. I only added about half the cream the recipe called for, I wanted to retain the orange color but I wouldn't leave the cream out because I like the texture it gave the soup. (It definitely could be omitted and it would be an awesome vegan recipe). This recipe is definitely a keeper!! The pumpkin cooked down so well, this is my first time cooking with pumpkin aside from desserts or bread and I am impressed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States