Spicy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is so darned easy and really tasty too. I did saute the garlic and onion for a couple of minutes in a little olive oil. I didn't add the cream to the whole batch of soup - those would wanted to tone down the spice could add some - I personally liked it without the cream and it saves a ton of calories. This might serve 4 as a first course but not 4 for dinner. Thanks for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I used fresh pumpkin for this and except for an immersion blender/finger/emergency room mishap, it went well. I served it for a brunch with friends with mirliton bread, salad and mushroom crepes and they LOVED it. I added a touch more seasoning to suit New Orleans' palates and used 1/2 fat-free half & half and 1/2 heavy cream. It was delicious. Thanks to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is fantastic--the recipe lends itself well to making changes and additions to suite your taste. I took the advice of another reviewer and sauteed the onion and garlic (needs much more than one clove!) for a few minutes. I added the cajun seasoning during this stage, and also added some cayenne pepper and sriracha sauce. I also decided to split the broth, adding half chicken and half chipotle bullion. It was easier to just add a teaspoon of heavy cream to each bowl served, adding a full cup (I doubled the recipe) seemed too decadent. Chives and a few blue cheese crumbles worked wonderful as a garnish. Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I used this as a bast to use up some open pumpkin and an acorn squash. Thanks, Cat, it worked well. I had to make a substitute for cajun spices, as I had none on hand. I pureed the squash and such after cooking, then added half n half at the finish, as that is what I had on hand. Alot of changes it seems, but your basic thoughts helped greatly. The soup turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA
Living In: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is a super easy recipe. I blended it to make it super smooth, and I made a few substitutions that worked really well for me. Instead of heavy cream, I used plain greek yogurt reducing the fat content and increasing the protein content of the dish. I also didn't have cajun seasoning, so I just sprinkled a bit of cayenne pepper into it. In addition, I added a bit of honey which was the best idea that I had when it came to this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used vegetarian chicken flavored bullion, doubled the garlic and sautéed it with the onions and cajun seasoning (which I also doubled). Halfway through cooking I added white sugar and black pepper to taste. I only added about half the cream the recipe called for, I wanted to retain the orange color but I wouldn't leave the cream out because I like the texture it gave the soup. (It definitely could be omitted and it would be an awesome vegan recipe). This recipe is definitely a keeper!! The pumpkin cooked down so well, this is my first time cooking with pumpkin aside from desserts or bread and I am impressed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Wonderfully tasty comfort food - a soup that is so easy to make yet it tastes like you spent hours making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very easy recipe to make. The spice was just enough for my hubby and I. I didn't have any cream so we did without and it was still tasty! Next time I'll puree the onions after cooking them in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States