Spicy Pumpkin Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I make this pie every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas and I love it. I get two pies out of it with 9" deep-dish pie crusts. I definitely up the spice quantities too. I eyeball it, so it's different every time, but I go anywhere from doubling to tripling the quantities. I also melt some butter with some of the spices and brush the pie crust with the spiced butter before pouring the pie filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
A bit too heavy on the sugar and nutmeg. I'd reduce the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp, and half the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I think with the cream and milk it was lighter than the normal condensed milk version and it was much superior to the evaporated milk versions I have tried, where the evaporated milk is easily identified with the pumpkin and spices. My pie was very bland but I am certain this had something to do with the lacklustre canned pumpkin I used. I will try it again and use fresh pumpkin next time. I will also use all brown sugar to bring out the spices. I found it was (too?) sweet, but needed more spice to give it that pumpkin pie warmth we expect from a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I think regular pumpkin pie can be very dull, so this lively version was definitely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by comicfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is my long lost mother's pumpkin pie recipe! Wonderful spicy and with nicely sweetened whipped cream a fabulous dessert. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Delicious and perfectly spiced. I used 2c of evaperated milk instead of the milk and cream, which was slightly more than 1 can. Worked out fine but was a bit creamy for me. Next time I will use 1 can. Taste was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
The taste was okay, but it was still runny, almost raw in the middle after baking time + 10 minutes. I will try again, perhaps cut down on the milk some and bake a bit longer. I like spicy and dense pie. This has potential, it's not "fluffy," but as written it's not quite cooked at the end of the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Delicious!! Regular pumpkin pie is way too plain, this is just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. I doubled the recipe, and made 4 pies (I didn't use deep-dish shells). Two are currently in the freezer to save. The flavor of this was great. This may just be my pumpkin pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe! My wife, who doesn't even like pumpkin pie, had to admit that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States