Spicy Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe is ok, but has a heavy chocolate/butterscotch taste if you put the required morsels in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is a 5 star fudge, no doubt about it! The recipe is simple to follow and easy to accomplish at any skill level. I followed the advice of a reviewer and used a mixture of white and cinnamon chips instead of the butterscotch. Perfection for the pumpkin lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
4 stars because it tasted fabulous, but I didn't get it to set. I'm sure it was on my end, not cooking long enough. I made changes as recommended by ryan5678. I pulled it for tasting and several of us wound up eating it out of the pan. Double dipping be darned....this was good! I'm going to try it again when the pressure of the holidays has passed and see where I went wrong on this batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
It didn't set up right, but I didn't use a thermometer, so I'm sure that was my fault. I didn't have nuts, but I had nutella. Incredible flavor. I did what a lot of people did and used only half the butter, and 2 cups of sugar, and doubled the pumpkin. Also, I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned. Oh, and I did half white, half butterscotch on the chips. I actually got a spoon and cleaned up the pot personally. Flavor was SO GOOD. Looking at my review, I would have been surprised if it had set up, given how many changes I made. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
You really have to use butter NOT margarine and be patient as it may take 15 minutes or so to reach the 234 degree mark. It's TOTALLY worth it though. I did use white chocolate because it's what I had in my pantry and I left out the almonds but other than that it's perfect as written! YUMMY AND DESERVES 10+ STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Followed exactly as the recipe states and it was wonderful. Left out for the new years party and it was gone fast. The butterscotch and almonds make this recipe, I did not see a need to switch to white choco chips. It did not over power the pumpkin at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I messed up the first two batches of this. Each time, I could not get the temperature of my boil above about 216 after about 12 minutes. Each time I ended up with a nice goopy ice cream topping which barely set, even after being frozen. On the third try, while I watched all the steam escape from the pot at the beginning of the boil, it occurred to me that water boils at 212. The temperature of the mixture will remain steady until ALL the water is boiled off... then it will rise again. Once the temperature begins to rise again, there will be very little steam rising off of the pot. So be patient... it may take a few more than 10 minutes, but it will get there. Just watch the steam coming off the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This came out really, really good. My husband makes a great peanut butter fudge, and this was his first time venturing out into new territory :) The recipe is simple. I just greased a 9x13 pan and we let it cool on the counter and put it in the fridge. It was a hit at his company Thanksgiving party. It tastes best when refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Delightful! Didn't have marshmallow creme, so I made my own. I have butterscotch chips, but heeded the advice of reviewers and used white chocolate. I reduced the butter by 1/3 cup, doubled (heck, just about tripled) the pumpkin, and threw together my own "pumpkin spice" mixture (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and ground cloves). The trick is to get it to the correct temperature before adding the chips and removing from the heat. You MUST have patience. Very, very rich, but as my husband said, "the best thing I ever put in my mouth!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
if you like pumpkin, this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States