Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I am a big chili fan and enjoyed this one. However, I would not describe it as spicy at all. It wasn't bland, and my friend who dislikes really spicy food enjoyed it and called it "better than regular chili." I thought the pumpkin pie spice and pumpkin gave it thickness and depth of flavor without making it taste weird. But I added some habanero salsa to my next helping and enjoyed that even more, so next time I'll add a jalapeno or two. Overall, it's a nice variation on typical chili, the pumpkin adds some nutrients and thickness, and it's easy to make, so I give it five stars. It reminds me of another recipe I've made that includes grated sweet potato - I think it's the same idea as the pumpkin, to thicken the chili, but a can of pumpkin is obviously much easier to do. I left out the mystery tomato sauce/paste, FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
The recipe was tasting really great - right up until the moment when I added the pumpkin pie spices. They took a very yummy dish to tasting far less good. I highly recommend leaving them out completely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheleberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I really loved this recipe. Can't wait to make it again with my homegrown pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Saw in the magazine and was quite intrigued. Had a can of pumpkin puree on the shelf for months....I added some sweet red wine and cocoa powder. I also used dry bean medley (1/2 pound) which I soaked overnight. I needed to extend the slow cooker time to get the beans tender. This is a very amazing chili and we love love love it! I have a lot in the freezer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Suziehomemaker
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Followed others' suggestions to add a bit of brown sugar and smoked paprika (gave it a great smokey flavor). Resulting taste and texture were great -- a bit too spicy for my daughter, but an almost ideal match of spiciness and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious fall chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I decided to give this recipe a whirl. It seemed to be really tasty and it met all of my expectations! It packs a lot of flavor. I added more onions to mine and did not include the great northern beans. I did add my red pepper flakes to it because I like spicy foods. I really enjoyed this dish and I have been sharing it with my friends. I'm considering trying to make a cheese dip using the base of this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made this for a Halloween get together at work. Doubled the recipe and stuck pretty much right with it. It was bland and way too tomatoey. I felt this might be the case when I just kept adding tomato products; I should have listened to myself. My co-workers said it was 'good', but this is not the end result I was looking for. Would need many modifications, unless you are not at all interested in spices. It was the very last leftover eaten, by only one person in the home. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This one's a keeper! I like pumpkin in everything but I was a little nervous about serving this to my family. They loved it. I changed a bit based on what I had on hand - I know some reviewers don't like when you do this, but when you live far from the grocery store, that's how you cook and why I love the reviews on this site. I used crumbled apple sausage that my husband buys at the local farmer's market instead of ground beef. Didn't use any tomato paste but used the sauce. Allrecipes Magazine said to omit the sauce, but I found it was needed for moisture and great flavor, too. I had some fresh roma tomatoes I had to use up instead of canned diced, and put in a tiny bit of chili pepper in adobo for heat instead of red pepper flakes (being careful to de-seed them.) Next time I won't rinse the beans. My chili started to dry out a little, so I added a bit of water. Delicious! No need for cheese, it's marvellous on its own. Thank you Daisy K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States