Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
for my own notes, use extra 1/2 beef. 3 of our homegrown hot peppers and 1 1/2 Tbs chili powder is too much. I do rinse beans to get rid of some of the sodium. Add low sodium beef broth and some water to thin out. Like the pumpkin. Hubby loved it but too hot for me even with dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Very good recipe. I used non GMO TVP instead of meat to make it a good vegan chilli. Took it to a friend's house for a mini potluck and it got good reviews. Really like adding the pumpkin for the nutritional benefits. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I am a big chili fan and enjoyed this one. However, I would not describe it as spicy at all. It wasn't bland, and my friend who dislikes really spicy food enjoyed it and called it "better than regular chili." I thought the pumpkin pie spice and pumpkin gave it thickness and depth of flavor without making it taste weird. But I added some habanero salsa to my next helping and enjoyed that even more, so next time I'll add a jalapeno or two. Overall, it's a nice variation on typical chili, the pumpkin adds some nutrients and thickness, and it's easy to make, so I give it five stars. It reminds me of another recipe I've made that includes grated sweet potato - I think it's the same idea as the pumpkin, to thicken the chili, but a can of pumpkin is obviously much easier to do. I left out the mystery tomato sauce/paste, FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
The recipe was tasting really great - right up until the moment when I added the pumpkin pie spices. They took a very yummy dish to tasting far less good. I highly recommend leaving them out completely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheleberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I really loved this recipe. Can't wait to make it again with my homegrown pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Saw in the magazine and was quite intrigued. Had a can of pumpkin puree on the shelf for months....I added some sweet red wine and cocoa powder. I also used dry bean medley (1/2 pound) which I soaked overnight. I needed to extend the slow cooker time to get the beans tender. This is a very amazing chili and we love love love it! I have a lot in the freezer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Suziehomemaker
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Followed others' suggestions to add a bit of brown sugar and smoked paprika (gave it a great smokey flavor). Resulting taste and texture were great -- a bit too spicy for my daughter, but an almost ideal match of spiciness and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious fall chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States