Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Saw in the magazine and was quite intrigued. Had a can of pumpkin puree on the shelf for months....I added some sweet red wine and cocoa powder. I also used dry bean medley (1/2 pound) which I soaked overnight. I needed to extend the slow cooker time to get the beans tender. This is a very amazing chili and we love love love it! I have a lot in the freezer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Suziehomemaker
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Followed others' suggestions to add a bit of brown sugar and smoked paprika (gave it a great smokey flavor). Resulting taste and texture were great -- a bit too spicy for my daughter, but an almost ideal match of spiciness and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious fall chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I decided to give this recipe a whirl. It seemed to be really tasty and it met all of my expectations! It packs a lot of flavor. I added more onions to mine and did not include the great northern beans. I did add my red pepper flakes to it because I like spicy foods. I really enjoyed this dish and I have been sharing it with my friends. I'm considering trying to make a cheese dip using the base of this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made this for a Halloween get together at work. Doubled the recipe and stuck pretty much right with it. It was bland and way too tomatoey. I felt this might be the case when I just kept adding tomato products; I should have listened to myself. My co-workers said it was 'good', but this is not the end result I was looking for. Would need many modifications, unless you are not at all interested in spices. It was the very last leftover eaten, by only one person in the home. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This one's a keeper! I like pumpkin in everything but I was a little nervous about serving this to my family. They loved it. I changed a bit based on what I had on hand - I know some reviewers don't like when you do this, but when you live far from the grocery store, that's how you cook and why I love the reviews on this site. I used crumbled apple sausage that my husband buys at the local farmer's market instead of ground beef. Didn't use any tomato paste but used the sauce. Allrecipes Magazine said to omit the sauce, but I found it was needed for moisture and great flavor, too. I had some fresh roma tomatoes I had to use up instead of canned diced, and put in a tiny bit of chili pepper in adobo for heat instead of red pepper flakes (being careful to de-seed them.) Next time I won't rinse the beans. My chili started to dry out a little, so I added a bit of water. Delicious! No need for cheese, it's marvellous on its own. Thank you Daisy K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I found this recipe in the Allrecipes magazine and decided to try it. I made the changes suggested in the article and it turned out wonderfully! A light pumpkin "fall" flavor with lots of chili pizazz. My family devoured this one and I'll make it again. It tastes like a restaurant-quality chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Best chili I ever made! It smelled so good while it was cooking, I couldn't wait to taste it. The combination of spices is great. Changes I made: used chili con carne powder instead of just chili powder, ground chicken instead of beef, yellow and orange bell peppers instead of red and green, couldn't find fire roasted tomatoes so used diced tomatoes with onions and lime...and added 1 bunch of thinly cut kale for some added veggie-power. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This had a very full, rich flavor I wasn't expecting. My DH said its his favorite of the many chili recipes I've tried. My 2 year old loved it also. I'm looking forward to making it again soon. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States