Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made some variations but really enjoyed this! The pumpkin gave it a slight sweet, earthy, warming flavor. I didn't use meat and it was still great. I also added extra pumpkin, cumin and chili powder (to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great recipe – however – I think there is a typo in the ingredient list: the 1 4-ounce can of “tomato sauce with garlic and onions” – I am convinced that was supposed to read tomato “PASTE” (and that is what I used) – since I don’t think tomato sauce comes in 4-ounce cans (the tomato paste – to my knowledge – only comes in 6-oz. cans). Ok – I made a few changes – instead of a green pepper – I used a drained and rinsed can of diced green chilies. I didn’t have fired roasted diced tomatoes – so I used 3 regular cans of diced tomatoes and added 1 tsp. of smoked paprika. I also added 2 tbsp. of brown sugar. On the preparation front – I cooked the pepper flakes, onion, red pepper, and garlic in a saucepan and added a bottle of beer. Once those were soft – I used a slotted spoon to transfer them to the slow cooker – then cooked my pound of ground bison in the remaining beer liquid. Once that was browned completely – all the liquid was gone – made for added layers of flavor! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was very good, but I think there are a couple of things that improve it: 1) use fresh garlic and press it rather than using minced from a jar 2) don't drain the beans! It made for a soupier chili. 3) Add a dash or two of Tabasco at the end. This chili is rather sweet and that helped to counter act. This was great with Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was really good! I made one minor change to ensure my family would eat it. I only used great white northern beans and black beans since my kids don't care for kidney. I drained the beans, and while the pumpkin pure thickens it nicely, it wasn't to thick. Also, I ended up doubling the ground beef and the seasoning as a result. I didn't find this to be sweet at all. Wonderful chili for something a little different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I love this chili! I did make a few slight changes to the recipe by using turkey instead of beef and doubling the chili powder and adding cayenne pepper. I shared it with friends and everyone loved it! I will definitely make this every fall from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Wow was I surprised when I tried this! I was looking for something different to do with chili and my was this what I was looking for. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Daisy, this was my first pumpkin chili and BOY was it Terrific! slightly sweet and spicy. Thick and Rich! My 19 yo DD is eating it as I am typing for breakfast! She gives it 2 high 5's! I used a can of V-8 and tomato paste in loo of tomato sauce. It was a rainy dreary evening yesterday and this was the Perfect meal! I made a pan of cornbread muffins that rounded out the meal. I will keep this one close by. Thanks again Daisy k!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
WOW this was so good ,the smell really reminded me of a crisp fall day. I did halve the pumpkin puree,the pie spice , chili and cumin to be on the safe side (fussy hubby) .well into his second bowl i told him the ingredients, he actually give it 5 thumbs up . I am so glad i tried this and will be making it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I used ground extra lean turkey and doubled the spices, and added extra hot chili powder and it was just the right spiciness. Everyone loved it, super healthy, and didn't need sour cream or cheese at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Dille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I got the inspiration to make pumpkin chili to enter in a recent chili cookoff- I tweeked it a bit- using just a hint of cinamon in place of the pumpkin spice and added some peppers and onions in- I won first place. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States