Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great recipe – however – I think there is a typo in the ingredient list: the 1 4-ounce can of “tomato sauce with garlic and onions” – I am convinced that was supposed to read tomato “PASTE” (and that is what I used) – since I don’t think tomato sauce comes in 4-ounce cans (the tomato paste – to my knowledge – only comes in 6-oz. cans). Ok – I made a few changes – instead of a green pepper – I used a drained and rinsed can of diced green chilies. I didn’t have fired roasted diced tomatoes – so I used 3 regular cans of diced tomatoes and added 1 tsp. of smoked paprika. I also added 2 tbsp. of brown sugar. On the preparation front – I cooked the pepper flakes, onion, red pepper, and garlic in a saucepan and added a bottle of beer. Once those were soft – I used a slotted spoon to transfer them to the slow cooker – then cooked my pound of ground bison in the remaining beer liquid. Once that was browned completely – all the liquid was gone – made for added layers of flavor! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was very good, but I think there are a couple of things that improve it: 1) use fresh garlic and press it rather than using minced from a jar 2) don't drain the beans! It made for a soupier chili. 3) Add a dash or two of Tabasco at the end. This chili is rather sweet and that helped to counter act. This was great with Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made this chili as suggested it was very good when I came across this recipe I new I had to try it just because I never thought of putting pumkin into chili all my friends love chili and thought this one was very good When I was cooking this the house had a lite pumkin smell it was nice and will make this again in the future thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Overall, this was pretty darn good! I haven't had a chance to try pumpkin chili yet, so I was surprised by what a delcious flavor this added to the chili. It made it taste earthy and just slightly sweeter. I did make a few changes based on other reviews. I did not drain my beans which helped make the chili soupier. Also, I used fresh garlic. And, I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. The one thing I would have liked is for it to be a little spicier. I would recommend added diced green chilies/jalapenos/something to add a little more heat which I will experiment with next time around. Thanks for the fun fall recipe, Daisy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I love this chili! I did make a few slight changes to the recipe by using turkey instead of beef and doubling the chili powder and adding cayenne pepper. I shared it with friends and everyone loved it! I will definitely make this every fall from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
WOW this was so good ,the smell really reminded me of a crisp fall day. I did halve the pumpkin puree,the pie spice , chili and cumin to be on the safe side (fussy hubby) .well into his second bowl i told him the ingredients, he actually give it 5 thumbs up . I am so glad i tried this and will be making it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was really good! I made one minor change to ensure my family would eat it. I only used great white northern beans and black beans since my kids don't care for kidney. I drained the beans, and while the pumpkin pure thickens it nicely, it wasn't to thick. Also, I ended up doubling the ground beef and the seasoning as a result. I didn't find this to be sweet at all. Wonderful chili for something a little different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This really wasn't very spicy but worked for me as I was making this for a daycare chili cookoff. I chose this because it sounded different from the norm. I did use about 1.75 pounds of ground beef. This was a nice, thick, hearty chili and not too spicy for small children. I actually ended up winning the chili cookoff with this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was disappointed with this recipe. I didn't taste the pumpkin at all, and the flavor was bland. I used the amount of spice indicated in the recipe (and yes, my spices are fresh and have not been sitting around forever), but I thought it just tasted like tomatoes and that was it. It was edible, but not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Finally I had cool enough weather to try this chili recipe last night. I pretty much made just as written, my changes were to use garden fresh chili pepper and two jalapeño peppers in lieu of the green pepper. I did add some yellow and red bells though. I also used whole 15oz. can of tomato sauce, instead of the two different cans of tomato sauces the cook recommends, I think that may be a typo. I did add a bit more cumin and chili powder, since we like spicy. I always add a dash of cinnamon to my own chili, and this one certainly was no exception. I loved the creamy thick texture the pumpkin gave to the soup, only giving a delicate nutty sweetness to the normal hearty southwest chili dish. With the fall coloring the pumpkin adds along with the variety of beans, and vegetables, plus the added health benefit of the pumpkin, make this a dish I will regularly rotate in the cooler months. You could even make this healthier by adding ground turkey instead of beef, or use an extra can of beans and no meat at all. Thanks Daisy K for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States