Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This pumpkin chilli is delicious! I have never made a pumpkin chilli before so I didn't want to stray too far from the original recipe. I didn't use the ground beef and I added cayenne pepper. I think this is a recipe you could change up a lot and it would still be good. I would definitely reccomend using the fire roasted tomatoes that the recipe calls for because those worked really well in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was great but not was not spicy. I don't like things very spicy but I found that a diced jalapeno and extra chili powder were needed (hence 4 stars instead of 5). I mistakenly did not buy tomato sauce and instead used 6 oz of tomato paste and some water. To make this vegetarian I replaced the beef with an extra can each of kidney and black beans. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I got the inspiration to make pumpkin chili to enter in a recent chili cookoff- I tweeked it a bit- using just a hint of cinamon in place of the pumpkin spice and added some peppers and onions in- I won first place. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Fabulous!!! I had half a can of leftover pumpkin from the other night and had no clue what to do with it! This was the answer!!! I cooked mine on the stove top instead of the slow cooker. Used ground turkey instead of beef. Used just one (15 oz) can tomato sauce instead of 2 small ones. Used one can of diced tomatoes with onion & garlic & one low-sodium. Upped the chili powder from 2 teaspoons to 3 and upped the cumin from 1 teaspoon to 1 1/2 and added a couple splashes of hot sauce. Topped it with a small sprinkle of monterey jack cheese, a dollop of sour cream & minced cilantro!!! Earty! Hearty! Tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
It's amazing that you can't tell there's a giant can of pumpkin in this chili. What a great way to hide extra veggies in your diet. I made it exactly as listed but will change a few things the next time, based on feedback. I'd recommend doubling the meat. We could barely find any in this substantially sized pot. I will also cut back to only one pepper (red). Otherwise, really, really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Geek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was disappointed with this recipe. I didn't taste the pumpkin at all, and the flavor was bland. I used the amount of spice indicated in the recipe (and yes, my spices are fresh and have not been sitting around forever), but I thought it just tasted like tomatoes and that was it. It was edible, but not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Made for a halloween party. Received multiple compliments. Pretty tasty. Will make more spicy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This really wasn't very spicy but worked for me as I was making this for a daycare chili cookoff. I chose this because it sounded different from the norm. I did use about 1.75 pounds of ground beef. This was a nice, thick, hearty chili and not too spicy for small children. I actually ended up winning the chili cookoff with this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I used ground extra lean turkey and doubled the spices, and added extra hot chili powder and it was just the right spiciness. Everyone loved it, super healthy, and didn't need sour cream or cheese at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
WOW this was so good ,the smell really reminded me of a crisp fall day. I did halve the pumpkin puree,the pie spice , chili and cumin to be on the safe side (fussy hubby) .well into his second bowl i told him the ingredients, he actually give it 5 thumbs up . I am so glad i tried this and will be making it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States