Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Absolutely fantastic!! I made it as instructed, but threw in another 1/2 teas. more red pepper flakes - we like a little more heat. The pumpkin is such a great touch - it comes through beautifully, but subtly. This is going to be a family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
this was FANTASTIC! I added extra black beans. I also used fresh garlic like someone suggested. I didn't have tomato paste and it turns out it was thick enough without it. I used the 15 oz tomato sauce so I wouldn't waste anything and it was still thick. Saved this recipe and will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Everyone seemed to really enjoy it at the Halloween party I went to. I live in Texas, so I added extra chile powder, red pepper, and dried red pepper; also, some Cayenne pepper, black pepper, and a big Jalapeno pepper. Even still, it could have been spicier; but others said the heat level was just right. I think a hotter pepper than the jalapeno I used would have been perfect, just a little more kick. I used cinnamon instead of cumin, just because that is what I had. I drained and rinsed beans and was glad, cause I thought the chile was wet enough as it was. Served with Cilantro, Cornbread, Monty Jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
We really like the sweet flavor the pumpkin & pie spice add to this. For a little kick I added about 1/4 Cup Mrs. Renfro's Ghost pepper salsa - very hot stuff. I also added a little more chili powder than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Oh my gosh this was fantastic! I too used 2 fresh cloves of garlic in place of the minced and omitted the can of Great Northern Beans. I served it in a pumpkin with crusty rolls on the side and it was an absolute hit! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was delicious! It makes a pretty presentation with the three different colored beans. The only thing I did different was to heat in crock pot on high instead of low. I just felt it needed to simmer a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marymakin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This recipe was a big hit at a recent Halloween party I attended. The parents and kids loved it. The recipe is super simple and the taste and aroma of the pumpkin was fantastic. Its a very healthy dish and one that I will sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Hearty, thick , flavorful. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Delicious! I added some cayenne for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheiney1122

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
i added diced fresh pumpkin. Was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States