Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
The recipe was tasting really great - right up until the moment when I added the pumpkin pie spices. They took a very yummy dish to tasting far less good. I highly recommend leaving them out completely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheleberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I really loved this recipe. Can't wait to make it again with my homegrown pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Saw in the magazine and was quite intrigued. Had a can of pumpkin puree on the shelf for months....I added some sweet red wine and cocoa powder. I also used dry bean medley (1/2 pound) which I soaked overnight. I needed to extend the slow cooker time to get the beans tender. This is a very amazing chili and we love love love it! I have a lot in the freezer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Suziehomemaker
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Followed others' suggestions to add a bit of brown sugar and smoked paprika (gave it a great smokey flavor). Resulting taste and texture were great -- a bit too spicy for my daughter, but an almost ideal match of spiciness and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious fall chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I decided to give this recipe a whirl. It seemed to be really tasty and it met all of my expectations! It packs a lot of flavor. I added more onions to mine and did not include the great northern beans. I did add my red pepper flakes to it because I like spicy foods. I really enjoyed this dish and I have been sharing it with my friends. I'm considering trying to make a cheese dip using the base of this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made this for a Halloween get together at work. Doubled the recipe and stuck pretty much right with it. It was bland and way too tomatoey. I felt this might be the case when I just kept adding tomato products; I should have listened to myself. My co-workers said it was 'good', but this is not the end result I was looking for. Would need many modifications, unless you are not at all interested in spices. It was the very last leftover eaten, by only one person in the home. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This one's a keeper! I like pumpkin in everything but I was a little nervous about serving this to my family. They loved it. I changed a bit based on what I had on hand - I know some reviewers don't like when you do this, but when you live far from the grocery store, that's how you cook and why I love the reviews on this site. I used crumbled apple sausage that my husband buys at the local farmer's market instead of ground beef. Didn't use any tomato paste but used the sauce. Allrecipes Magazine said to omit the sauce, but I found it was needed for moisture and great flavor, too. I had some fresh roma tomatoes I had to use up instead of canned diced, and put in a tiny bit of chili pepper in adobo for heat instead of red pepper flakes (being careful to de-seed them.) Next time I won't rinse the beans. My chili started to dry out a little, so I added a bit of water. Delicious! No need for cheese, it's marvellous on its own. Thank you Daisy K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I found this recipe in the Allrecipes magazine and decided to try it. I made the changes suggested in the article and it turned out wonderfully! A light pumpkin "fall" flavor with lots of chili pizazz. My family devoured this one and I'll make it again. It tastes like a restaurant-quality chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States