Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but rather added or didn't add what I had like different veggies and less tomatoes. The most important thing in this recipe is the pumpkin puree and spice. I very much liked the different taste of pumpkin in the typical tomato based chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was delicious! Great recipe and I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
What a great way to add yet another vegetable to a crock pot chili-pumpkin, who knew!? I did tweaked it for my preference: 1) replace the green w/a poblano pepper 2) added 8oz beef chorizo to the ground beef + 3) added 2 tsp unsweetened coco powder to the spices. Definitely will be making this easy + tasty recipes (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Our houseguests enjoyed and complimented the chili. However, I am a bit of a self-proclaimed chili connoisseur and I had to "doctor" the recipe quite a bit in order to highlight the flavors. I made my own pumpkin puree from fresh pumpkin. The pumpkin didn't seem to add much uniqueness to the chili; it actually made it a bit bland. I will try this recipe one more time with a few more tricks to see if I can get more of a pumpkin/fall flavor out of it. I like the concept of Pumpkin Chili anyway, so I'm not giving up yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
The BEST chili recipe I have ever made. Had it ready in the crock pot for a Halloween party for 7 adults before we took kids out trick or treating. It was a hit with everyone. Like other reviewers, I did not drain the beans, and I modified based on what was in my pantry: Different type of tomatoes instead of fire roasted - so I added paprika. I also accidentally used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, and it tasted great. Used ground turkey instead of ground beef. My crock pot was at capacity! Don't be afraid to tweak based on what types of canned goods you have. I don't think you could screw this up. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Nice change of pace - my non chili eating better half ate and said it's a keeper. I did add more red pepper and chili powder, and used turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This chili turned out good, I was nervous about how the pumpkin and the pumpkin spice would taste so I didn't put as much in. I think next time I will do the whole amount and definitely spice it up. Over all it was good but I prefer a lot of heat. This would be great for family night, I'm sure all the kids would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Absolutely fantastic!! I made it as instructed, but threw in another 1/2 teas. more red pepper flakes - we like a little more heat. The pumpkin is such a great touch - it comes through beautifully, but subtly. This is going to be a family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
this was FANTASTIC! I added extra black beans. I also used fresh garlic like someone suggested. I didn't have tomato paste and it turns out it was thick enough without it. I used the 15 oz tomato sauce so I wouldn't waste anything and it was still thick. Saved this recipe and will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Everyone seemed to really enjoy it at the Halloween party I went to. I live in Texas, so I added extra chile powder, red pepper, and dried red pepper; also, some Cayenne pepper, black pepper, and a big Jalapeno pepper. Even still, it could have been spicier; but others said the heat level was just right. I think a hotter pepper than the jalapeno I used would have been perfect, just a little more kick. I used cinnamon instead of cumin, just because that is what I had. I drained and rinsed beans and was glad, cause I thought the chile was wet enough as it was. Served with Cilantro, Cornbread, Monty Jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States