Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Audra
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made a vegetarian version so I made a couple of small changes to this: I used homemade tomato sauce. (where the recipe calls for a 4oz can of tomato sauce, I think it's an error. It's supposed to be tomato paste) I added corn. I doubled the red pepper and the pumpkin pie spice. I substituted vegetarian smart ground for the meat and added some lavendar balsamic when I was sautéing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very tasty. The pumpkin and spice gave it a nicely different taste. I didn't add any paste. I used a regular sized can of diced tomatoes and garlic, rather than a 4 oz can. I didn't think it was watery at all. Only thing I added was a small can of green chile peppers because I had them on hand. Skipped the salt as I thought between the canned beans and tomatoes it wouldn't need it. It didn't. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Followed the recipe, but cooked stovetop! Loved this on Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Doubled it. Added dark chocolate for complexity and simmered it on low for a few hours. No need to make dirty pans. Mixed it all up in one big, heavy pot. Half goes in the freezer,half for Halloween dinner! Can't really taste the pumpkin and pie spice but they add to the richness and thicken it. I didn't use paste as was suggested. Just the tomatoes forms I had on hand. Used a Walla Walla sweet onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
for my own notes, use extra 1/2 beef. 3 of our homegrown hot peppers and 1 1/2 Tbs chili powder is too much. I do rinse beans to get rid of some of the sodium. Add low sodium beef broth and some water to thin out. Like the pumpkin. Hubby loved it but too hot for me even with dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Very good recipe. I used non GMO TVP instead of meat to make it a good vegan chilli. Took it to a friend's house for a mini potluck and it got good reviews. Really like adding the pumpkin for the nutritional benefits. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I am a big chili fan and enjoyed this one. However, I would not describe it as spicy at all. It wasn't bland, and my friend who dislikes really spicy food enjoyed it and called it "better than regular chili." I thought the pumpkin pie spice and pumpkin gave it thickness and depth of flavor without making it taste weird. But I added some habanero salsa to my next helping and enjoyed that even more, so next time I'll add a jalapeno or two. Overall, it's a nice variation on typical chili, the pumpkin adds some nutrients and thickness, and it's easy to make, so I give it five stars. It reminds me of another recipe I've made that includes grated sweet potato - I think it's the same idea as the pumpkin, to thicken the chili, but a can of pumpkin is obviously much easier to do. I left out the mystery tomato sauce/paste, FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
The recipe was tasting really great - right up until the moment when I added the pumpkin pie spices. They took a very yummy dish to tasting far less good. I highly recommend leaving them out completely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheleberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I really loved this recipe. Can't wait to make it again with my homegrown pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States