Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
different but still good. More of an earthy flavor but nice for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I've made if several times for potluck dinners and it always gets rave reviews from everyone. I don't care too much for kidney beans so I switch them out for a mixed bean medley, so there are less kidney beans and it adds chickpeas, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very unique and very good! I have made this twicw in last two months....everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This has become our favorite way of making chili. The pumpkin adds the perfect amount of sweetness to balance out the chili peppers, fire roasted tomatoes and cumin. I've made two versions of this - a vegetarian one using crumbled, oven baked veggie meat balls, and a meat one for my husband with caribou meat from a caribou he shot 2 years ago on the north slope of the Brooks range in Alaska. Both were a big hit with us and our guests. Most recently, I've made chili fries, and it is now one of my top ten favorite recipes. I cut the potatoes into fries, deep fry, pour chili on top, sprinkle with sharp, shredded cheddar and put in the oven on broil for about 2-3 mins. The result is a kind of "french fry lasagna" - extremely delicious! Makes a perfect side dish, but filling enough for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was a great recipe! I double the spices as some other suggested. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This chili is really warm & spicy. Better the next day. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Finally I had cool enough weather to try this chili recipe last night. I pretty much made just as written, my changes were to use garden fresh chili pepper and two jalapeño peppers in lieu of the green pepper. I did add some yellow and red bells though. I also used whole 15oz. can of tomato sauce, instead of the two different cans of tomato sauces the cook recommends, I think that may be a typo. I did add a bit more cumin and chili powder, since we like spicy. I always add a dash of cinnamon to my own chili, and this one certainly was no exception. I loved the creamy thick texture the pumpkin gave to the soup, only giving a delicate nutty sweetness to the normal hearty southwest chili dish. With the fall coloring the pumpkin adds along with the variety of beans, and vegetables, plus the added health benefit of the pumpkin, make this a dish I will regularly rotate in the cooler months. You could even make this healthier by adding ground turkey instead of beef, or use an extra can of beans and no meat at all. Thanks Daisy K for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My entire family loves chili (we make it at least 1x per wk), & this was exceptional! I left out ground beef, for the vegan family members, but even my meat-loving brothers (16 & 24) raved about it! I used black beans seasoned with chilies, so the chili had a little heat. Other than that, followed recipe exactly. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
The pumpkin taste and spice was unique, so I might try adding it to a staple chili recipe instead of this one. I prepared the recipe exactly as written, but it was bland and not very spicy. Once finished I added a significant amount more of all the spices, lots of extra beans, and ground chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Tasty - Liked the pumpkin flavor. Was a little too spicy for my little ones but the adults loved it. Will make again. It was very thick so I'd add more water or tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States