Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was a huge hit at my house! It wasn't too spicy which was great for our 2 year old. My husband and I each added some sriracha to spice it up. I did a few things different based on my tastes and some suggestions from other people: I used 2 lbs of ground turkey and instead of pumpkin puree I used half a can of pumpkin pie filling, no need for pumpkin spice. I also used two red peppers because there were no green organic ones, I think it increased the sweetness a bit. I used a whole onion instead of half. Next time I will use just black beans as my daughter was picking those out to eat. We will definitely make this again, I'm even making it for our holiday party at work next month :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this chili the night after Halloween. The taste was good but I did not like the texture. I don't think I will make it again but if I did I would reduce or eliminate the pumpkin. If I just reduced the pumpkin, I would had 1/2 cup of water . Also, it used too many different kinds of beans and tomato sauces. I think I will return to my tried and true Better Homes and Gardens Chili recipe which is my standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is a great fall/winter chili. The pumpkin gives it a nice flavor. I had mine the next morning on top of scrambled eggs with taco cheese on top. Yum!! I plan on layering it on tortilla chips, smothering it with cheese and melting it in the oven for our football snack..definitely give it a try for a different type of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Substituted ground turkey for ground beef and added turmeric and a little ceylon cinnamon and it was some of the best chili I have ever made. My pumpkin-hating family was completely unaware that the chili had pumpkin in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Yum! This was great! Sweet and spicy. Bold and filling. I added 3 tbs of brown sugar to make it a little sweeter and bring out the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Lemme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monty Glisson
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Excellent tasting, easy recipe. The pumpkin puree and spice added a new level of flavor and surprised my doubting daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I love this recipe! I made it exactly as written and it turned out to have a very nice, spicy flavor. I wonder why people change the ingredients the first time they try a new recipe. How will you know what it really should taste like if you do that? Anyway I will make this again and I don't think anything needs to be changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
During the slow cooking phase, I tasted this as it cooked. The taste changes were interesting. From Pumpkin with a hint of chilli to chili with a hint of pumpkin. Final taste was a well blended savory taste of chili and pumpkin. I give this 4.0/5.0. Very easy to prepare. A definite new fall classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Tuttle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audra
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made a vegetarian version so I made a couple of small changes to this: I used homemade tomato sauce. (where the recipe calls for a 4oz can of tomato sauce, I think it's an error. It's supposed to be tomato paste) I added corn. I doubled the red pepper and the pumpkin pie spice. I substituted vegetarian smart ground for the meat and added some lavendar balsamic when I was sautéing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very tasty. The pumpkin and spice gave it a nicely different taste. I didn't add any paste. I used a regular sized can of diced tomatoes and garlic, rather than a 4 oz can. I didn't think it was watery at all. Only thing I added was a small can of green chile peppers because I had them on hand. Skipped the salt as I thought between the canned beans and tomatoes it wouldn't need it. It didn't. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States