Spicy Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is a good recipe. Followed the recipe using slow cooker. You certainly couldn't tell there was pumpkin in it but so what? The spices were interesting. Good way to get more vegetables in the diet. I steamed one small pie pumpkin to get the puree I needed. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Adjusted recipe - 1 1/3 lb. ground beef, NO peppers, lg. can pumpkin, 1 can diced tomato, 1 lg and 1 small can tomato sauce, doubled the spices, 2 cans kidney beans, one can pinto beans. These are my notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystalb
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
It did seem to need something when it was finished, so I added a little tobasco. Then I served it with some fry bread. No one could tell there was pumpkin in it until I mentioned it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe is awesome! My chili was amazing and all of my neighbors said the aroma was amazing outside of the house! I did add a bit more garlic but other than that I changed nothing. Very Flavorful and filling. The layers of flavors cannot be beat. Any person who says this recipe is bland may simply not be a very good cook. This is certainly a staple for the Harvest season going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was my first attempt at chili and it was yummy. I did change some things to my liking. I used a yellow and red pepper, only 1 can of northern beans (cause I don't like too many beans in my chili), 1 6 oz can of tomato paste not sauce (cause I read it may be a typo). Next time I will also leave out one can of the petite diced tomatoes, cause I think 1 is enough. And I also used turkey instead (1.25) lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was delicious! I will definitely be serving this again. It has just the right amount of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Stehr Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Super simple and VERY Yummy! I made a few changes...Sharing is Caring! Instead of the green and rell bell peppers I subsituted 1 jar of fire roasted red peppers and two fresh Poblano peppers. I chopped and seeded the subsitutions peppers and added them to the sauteeing meat mixture. I too doubled the chili powder. I used two generous cups of fresh pumpkin. One hour into the simmering (on the stove vs crock pot) I found the chilli a bit thick and added 2 cups of beef stock! Very hearty and a nice twist on our TexMex usual! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was nutritious, good and easy to make, but nothing to rave about. May or not make it again. If I were to change anything, I would add more spice to kick up the heat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is by far one of the VERY BEST chili recipes I've tried...the flavor is excellent, and you can tone up/down the spiciness by adding/deleting the red pepper flakes and/or cayenne pepper - my boyfriend and I really like the pumpkin in it, as we can definitely detect the texture and the taste - wonderful addition...we also loved the variety of beans in this recipe. I made it on the stove instead of the slow cooker for fear of disintegrating the ingredients - this is definitely a keeper and we can't wait to make it again - thank you and kudos to the author of this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was a huge hit at my house! It wasn't too spicy which was great for our 2 year old. My husband and I each added some sriracha to spice it up. I did a few things different based on my tastes and some suggestions from other people: I used 2 lbs of ground turkey and instead of pumpkin puree I used half a can of pumpkin pie filling, no need for pumpkin spice. I also used two red peppers because there were no green organic ones, I think it increased the sweetness a bit. I used a whole onion instead of half. Next time I will use just black beans as my daughter was picking those out to eat. We will definitely make this again, I'm even making it for our holiday party at work next month :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States