Spicy Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This recipe was so easy and great tasting. I took these to a football game. The fans found them more exciting then the game, and we're talking about die-hard fans. I did do one more step to the recipe. It says for you to marinate the pretzels in a zip lock bag. I did mix it in a zip lock bag, but then put them on a cookie sheet and baked them at 250 for about 15 minutes. That way it soaks up all the liquid. Please try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I have to agree with the previous person in some respects. I liked these pretzels, but couldn't eat very many of them because they were so incredibly salty. I think you could probably cut the garlic salt in half (or more). I also didn't find them to be extremely spicy-hot, just salty. Again, I did like them, but a little went a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
These are great! I used a bunch of mini pretzel balls that I'd bought in bulk for this recipe and they worked just as good as mini twists. I cut WAY down on the oil, probably only 1/6 of a cup that I drizzled over the pretzels that I had in a cake pan. I shook them till they were covered, sprinkled the spice mix (that I used Morton's Hot Salt instead of the cayenne in) over top of them and stuck them in the oven at 325 for probably 15 minutes, stirring a few times. These are definitely addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Excellent - everybody loves them. I used garlic powder (not salt) so they weren't too salty. My first batch was WAY too hot. Now I start with 1/4 of the cayenne and add more as needed (I have extra-hot cayenne). Such an easy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Very good pretzels. I have made 2 batches so far so I could give little bags away. I also added extra cayenne pepper and baked for about 15 minutes to dry them out a little bit. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I didn't find these pretzels to be spicey or frankly very good at all. They were saltier but no real added flavor. Perhaps more spice powder would work but I don't think I'll be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Having a hard time with this rating. Can I choose 4 1/2? Next time I will up the Cayenne & use less powdered Ranch. Several bites I had to cringe with the Ranch taste. Once my tongue settled dow I think I liked it. Kind of like the sour stuff my kids like. Used less oil. Cooked mine at 250 stirring a couple of times for at least 30 minutes. Used nuggets & mini. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is a very good recipe for a tasty snack. I only put about 3/4 teaspoon of the cayanne, because I can't handle extreme hot. It turned out great. A bit of hot, but not overpowering. I also found that if you let them sit for more than the 2 hours they aren't so oily. I let mine sit overnight and they were perfect! I will definately make again!!! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NASCAR24FAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This is really great! If you are not a "spicy" person, don't even think about this. I used a little more caynne pepper for the next batch and it really does "kick." Really easily made for a quick treat. Kids really won't eat it, because it is too spicy. Highly enjoyed it! I have already eaten 2 batches by myself! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLLEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
I loved the pretzels...they were a bit spicy (like the name says), but very easy, and different. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States