Spicy Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This recipe was so easy and great tasting. I took these to a football game. The fans found them more exciting then the game, and we're talking about die-hard fans. I did do one more step to the recipe. It says for you to marinate the pretzels in a zip lock bag. I did mix it in a zip lock bag, but then put them on a cookie sheet and baked them at 250 for about 15 minutes. That way it soaks up all the liquid. Please try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I have to agree with the previous person in some respects. I liked these pretzels, but couldn't eat very many of them because they were so incredibly salty. I think you could probably cut the garlic salt in half (or more). I also didn't find them to be extremely spicy-hot, just salty. Again, I did like them, but a little went a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
These are great! I used a bunch of mini pretzel balls that I'd bought in bulk for this recipe and they worked just as good as mini twists. I cut WAY down on the oil, probably only 1/6 of a cup that I drizzled over the pretzels that I had in a cake pan. I shook them till they were covered, sprinkled the spice mix (that I used Morton's Hot Salt instead of the cayenne in) over top of them and stuck them in the oven at 325 for probably 15 minutes, stirring a few times. These are definitely addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Excellent - everybody loves them. I used garlic powder (not salt) so they weren't too salty. My first batch was WAY too hot. Now I start with 1/4 of the cayenne and add more as needed (I have extra-hot cayenne). Such an easy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Very good pretzels. I have made 2 batches so far so I could give little bags away. I also added extra cayenne pepper and baked for about 15 minutes to dry them out a little bit. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I didn't find these pretzels to be spicey or frankly very good at all. They were saltier but no real added flavor. Perhaps more spice powder would work but I don't think I'll be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Having a hard time with this rating. Can I choose 4 1/2? Next time I will up the Cayenne & use less powdered Ranch. Several bites I had to cringe with the Ranch taste. Once my tongue settled dow I think I liked it. Kind of like the sour stuff my kids like. Used less oil. Cooked mine at 250 stirring a couple of times for at least 30 minutes. Used nuggets & mini. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is a very good recipe for a tasty snack. I only put about 3/4 teaspoon of the cayanne, because I can't handle extreme hot. It turned out great. A bit of hot, but not overpowering. I also found that if you let them sit for more than the 2 hours they aren't so oily. I let mine sit overnight and they were perfect! I will definately make again!!! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NASCAR24FAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This is really great! If you are not a "spicy" person, don't even think about this. I used a little more caynne pepper for the next batch and it really does "kick." Really easily made for a quick treat. Kids really won't eat it, because it is too spicy. Highly enjoyed it! I have already eaten 2 batches by myself! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLLEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
I loved the pretzels...they were a bit spicy (like the name says), but very easy, and different. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States