Spicy Potatoes and Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Definitely spicy! I did cut back on the oil a bit to crisp up my potatoes and added a little garlic powder to the mix. One thing I didn't do was cook my scrambled eggs in oil, but made them my usual way. Overall, very good with a side of whole grain toast and OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Really great recipe! You definitely should microwave the potatoes before sauteeing them. I tried it previously without prior nuking, but then it took an hour before they were cooked. I fried them with an onion and 2 cloves of garlic in addition to the spices. Also, I added paprika and cayenne pepper. When the potatoes were just about done, I scrambled the eggs (with black pepper; without salt or oil) and added them to the potato mixture. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
VERY GOOD..TO CUT BACK ON TIME I USED CANNED POTATOES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Pretty tasty. I chopped up my raw potato first, then 'par boiled' it in the micro (put it in a bowl with a little water in the bottom, then partially covered and microwaved for about 5 minutes) and finished the dices in the pan with olive oil and the spices. I didn't peel my potato, but it's a very thin-skinned garden variety, so I don't think it mattered. I also added cheese to my eggs, because that's how I roll. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Really good and flavorful...this is a nice change from regular scrambled eggs. I pan-fried the potatoes, added tomatoes, and doubled the spices for delicious scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used cubed leftover baked potatoes in this, so I wouldn't have to parboil the potatoes. This was plenty for my husband and I for breakfast, with WW toast on the side and a little salsa, sour cream and cheese. GREAT hangover breakfast. The potatoes had great flavor. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Made this for my husband and I the other morning and turned out great. He really loved the potatoes, and I thought that the eggs were great with the olive oil. We put lots of chili powder and seasoning salt on our potatoes. And we adorned our eggs with some homemade salsa. Was a great way to start our day. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
bismillahirrahmanirrahim excellent -- made this for a group of guys yesterday morning and everyone loved it, although i also made a lot of changes, adding muenster cheese, using butter instead of oil, adding milk to the eggs to make them fluffier, and using seasoned salt on the potatoes instead of the other spices (just chili powder in the eggs). i also thought i'd be a purist and fry the potatoes but it was taking SO long i had to take them out of the pan and microwave them -- but using the microwave makes this recipe so quick and so easy that i made it again for myself even though i was feeling extremely lazy; it's really that easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
believe it or not-even my 5 year old liked these potatoes! they didn't taste as spicy as i had thought but were very good. i also skipped the nuking of the potato and fried them up from the raw stage in the skillet. deee-licious! will definately make again! the eggs could use the addition of some of your favorite cheese! bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was a nice change of pace for breakfast. I'm not too big of a potato eater, so I'm thinking next time I'll only use one potato. I added some shredded pepper jack cheese while cooking the eggs for extra spice and topped the potatoes and eggs with a slice of american cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States