Spicy Potatoes and Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
believe it or not-even my 5 year old liked these potatoes! they didn't taste as spicy as i had thought but were very good. i also skipped the nuking of the potato and fried them up from the raw stage in the skillet. deee-licious! will definately make again! the eggs could use the addition of some of your favorite cheese! bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Really great recipe! You definitely should microwave the potatoes before sauteeing them. I tried it previously without prior nuking, but then it took an hour before they were cooked. I fried them with an onion and 2 cloves of garlic in addition to the spices. Also, I added paprika and cayenne pepper. When the potatoes were just about done, I scrambled the eggs (with black pepper; without salt or oil) and added them to the potato mixture. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
bismillahirrahmanirrahim excellent -- made this for a group of guys yesterday morning and everyone loved it, although i also made a lot of changes, adding muenster cheese, using butter instead of oil, adding milk to the eggs to make them fluffier, and using seasoned salt on the potatoes instead of the other spices (just chili powder in the eggs). i also thought i'd be a purist and fry the potatoes but it was taking SO long i had to take them out of the pan and microwave them -- but using the microwave makes this recipe so quick and so easy that i made it again for myself even though i was feeling extremely lazy; it's really that easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Thanks for the recipe. I never would have thought of these spices with plain potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
VERY GOOD..TO CUT BACK ON TIME I USED CANNED POTATOES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I didn't like this that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Made this for my husband and I the other morning and turned out great. He really loved the potatoes, and I thought that the eggs were great with the olive oil. We put lots of chili powder and seasoning salt on our potatoes. And we adorned our eggs with some homemade salsa. Was a great way to start our day. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
These were okay. I expected the potatoes to be spicier... my boyfriend really liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I just made the potato part of the recipe, and thought it was pretty good. I tinkered around with the spice proportions a little - less turmeric, more garlic - until it was how I liked it. Microwaving the potatoes really sped up the process. Thanks, Anju!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I made these for breakfast today and my husband was so impressed! I love the fact that the spices can be changed to fit your taste. I didnt have corriander or tumeric so I used the following istead: Garlic salt, Cumin, Cayenne pepper, black pepper and paprika. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States