Spicy Potatoes and Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a very good recipe. Microwaving the 'taters beforehand is definitely a good idea; otherwise, it will take forever to get them done. Great as-is, but try adding stuff to it like peppers, onions, chorizo, bacon, crumbled sausage or whatever you might be craving to take it up a notch. Cheese is a good addition, too. I really like the spices in this recipe, so thanks for the great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Definitely spicy! I did cut back on the oil a bit to crisp up my potatoes and added a little garlic powder to the mix. One thing I didn't do was cook my scrambled eggs in oil, but made them my usual way. Overall, very good with a side of whole grain toast and OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
the potatoes are awesome in this . i made bacon with dinner so instead of the veg oil i used 2 tbl of bacon grease ( about) and i added chopped onion to the potatoes when they were frying. i didnt have tumeric so i omitted it if i see it ill get some and add it next time i make this. i think it can be made all in one pan too since thats what i did. nice change up to breakfast for dinner. we had whole wheat toast and strawberry jam and big glasses of cold milk and everyones happy and full. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Uncle Joe's BBQ Sauce In-A-Bag Chipotle Blend has a nice kick as well. I made spicy potatoes using their pre-mixed powder blend. Sweet and spicy all rolled into one. Good with scrambled egg or by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I enjoyed this for breakfast. I didn't bother with microwaving the potatoes because they don't take that long to cook in the skillet. I still warmed peanut oil up then I added the spices, I used crushed red pepper flakes, cumin, paprika, chili powder, cayenne pepper, and seasoned salt. I "fried" the seasonings then added the diced potatoes. I crisped them up then covered and cooked until they were softened. I have a cold so I didn't think they were spicy at all, but my mom tasted them and couldn't finish them she said they were too spicy! Can't wait to make again when this cold goes away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used cubed leftover baked potatoes in this, so I wouldn't have to parboil the potatoes. This was plenty for my husband and I for breakfast, with WW toast on the side and a little salsa, sour cream and cheese. GREAT hangover breakfast. The potatoes had great flavor. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was a nice change of pace for breakfast. I'm not too big of a potato eater, so I'm thinking next time I'll only use one potato. I added some shredded pepper jack cheese while cooking the eggs for extra spice and topped the potatoes and eggs with a slice of american cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very simple but lacking something. Peppers, onions, garlic, cheese, ...something. Great idea to nuke the potatoes before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Pretty tasty. I chopped up my raw potato first, then 'par boiled' it in the micro (put it in a bowl with a little water in the bottom, then partially covered and microwaved for about 5 minutes) and finished the dices in the pan with olive oil and the spices. I didn't peel my potato, but it's a very thin-skinned garden variety, so I don't think it mattered. I also added cheese to my eggs, because that's how I roll. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I used olive oil to saute minced onion, garlic and peppers. I did microwave the potatoes until tender, then peeled, diced and added to pan. I used the cheesy herbed egg recipe to give additional flavor to the eggs. I then placed mixture in pitas and served with fruit. Good, but will cut back on spices some for the kids thought it was too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States