Spicy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe was easy to make. We enjoyed it very much. I was a little spicy and great flavor. The only substitute was that I two teaspoons of medium salsa versus the Tabasco and it was absolutely delicious. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have been making this soup for years. This is the very same recipe I use. Mine came from the Collector's Edition of "Taste of Home" Magazine. You even used the same picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d-squared

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Braving hurricane Sandy put us in the mood for soup, and we like spicy! Very easy to prepare with so few ingredients. We added cabbage and swapped the hot sauce with two habanero peppers and it was perfect. Flavored liked stuffed cabbage, but thicker red sauce due to the potatoes. I may add a touch of nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I love this recipe. I like it a little spicier though so I add canned diced jalapeños which compliments the already great recipe. I also serve it in bread bowls with a little dollop of sour cream on top. Made it many times for different people and everyone raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
YUMMY!!! So we forgot to go shopping and I looked at what we had on hand so I get on the internet typed in turkey meat and potatoes and low and behold I come upon this recipe!!! I substituted ground beef for ground turkey and the hot pepper sauce for 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper then I added 1 cup sliced yellow zucchini, 1 large garlic clove minced, 1 red bell pepper, and 1 cup frozen corn. We all loved it including my 5 year old son!!! So you get a total of 8 thumbs up from this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was delish, only changes I made were I added 2 cans of tomato sauce and a can of tomato paste to make it thicker. Did 1 tsp of Frank's Hot Sauce and also added crushed red pepper. 3 chopped cloves of fresh garlic and topped with Colby Jack Cheese. Served with crusty dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I didnt like this recipe and how the soup was tomato based. It was bland and watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent and easy to make! I used ground turkey and thinly sliced potatoes. I also added frozen corn and carrots. Fantastic fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was ok, not even 4 star worthy. I even seasoned the ground beef while it was browning and used manwhich sauce instead of tomato sauce for more flavor. However, it was just ok to help me get rid of some things i needed to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
We love it! Its a great cool weather/winter treat and I always serve it with fresh/homemade bread. Most of my family/guests prefer it a little thick and add grated cheddar cheese and/or a dollop of sour cream into their bowl. I adjust the spiciness depending on who's to eat it and sometimes if for folks on bland diets, I'll toss in a bag of frozen veggies. Also, instead of tomato sauce (24oz) I use tomato paste and water to an approx 24oz mix. The tomato sauce doesn't sustain as much flavor as the paste and its also saltier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States