Spicy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I substituted ground turkey for the ground beef but it still was very lovely. The soup was wonderfully filling. I was worried that it might be a bit too hot for me at first but after the first bite I knew it was just right. This recipe was definately a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I did quite a bit to this recipe, so I don't even know that it qualifies as the soup it was meant to be, but here goes... I did everything as the recipe described, then when there was about 20 minutes of cook time left,I mashed the potatoes just a little bit and I added one can of drained black beans, about 1 tsp of garlic powder and about 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro. It thickened up beautifully and then we sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese on the top of each bowl. Served with warm flour tortillas. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This soup was very tasty with just the right amount of spice and flavor. I love potato soup and this recipe is definitely a keeper!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Super! I used a little less salt & pepper and added more hot sauce and the whole family enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is one of the best soup recipes I have ever tried. A very hearty, cold-weather dish. Leftovers reheat well too. Easy to make. We enjoy it made with meatballs (either homemade or ready-made). White Rose or red potatoes stay firmer. If I don't have an onion on hand, I use a bit of onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tried this for my husband and myself - and my husband is VERY picky. We like things really spicy, so I doubled the Tabasco. Oh my goodness, this was wonderful! And the best part is that my husband really liked it, too, so now we have a new recipe to add to the slim selection of "acceptable meals", haha. He even took the leftovers for lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It was really easy (I'm not the most experienced cook) and it tastes sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I used onion powder because I didn't have onions and it turned out great!! It was also really good topped with shredded cheddar cheese. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I was in the mood for something cheesy so I added 16 oz. Velveeta Light - this is why I give it 5 stars. It was Cheesy Spicy Soup! I love finding soup recipes that use ingredients that I wouldn't normally use... tomato sauce and tobasco. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Delicious! I didn't know what I'd get when I made it, thought it might be a little bland, but it turned out really well. We put shredded cheese on top of each bowl. Kind of like chili with potatoes instead of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This is a great recipe! I made it for my family and everyone loved it they are begging me to make more.Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States