Spicy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was delicious! Instead of the ground beef, I kicked it up a notch and used ground spicy Italian sausage, which I added garlic to while cooking. I added a chopped green bell pepper, used spicy V-8 instead of the tomato sauce and since I hate the flavor of Tobasco sauce, I used Sriracha chili sauce in it's place. Threw everything into the crock pot and cooked on high for 5 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I have made this many times. It is great as directed, but my favorite thing to do is add a diced up zucchini and a handfull of barley, some frozen corn and a can of stewed tomatoes. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefsgirl
Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very yummy! I substituted extra lean ground pork for the ground beef since I just bought it on sale and served the soup with shredded mozzarella, which the kids loved, and sriracha hot sauce on the side for the parents who like it extra hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tried this for my husband and myself - and my husband is VERY picky. We like things really spicy, so I doubled the Tabasco. Oh my goodness, this was wonderful! And the best part is that my husband really liked it, too, so now we have a new recipe to add to the slim selection of "acceptable meals", haha. He even took the leftovers for lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It was really easy (I'm not the most experienced cook) and it tastes sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I did quite a bit to this recipe, so I don't even know that it qualifies as the soup it was meant to be, but here goes... I did everything as the recipe described, then when there was about 20 minutes of cook time left,I mashed the potatoes just a little bit and I added one can of drained black beans, about 1 tsp of garlic powder and about 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro. It thickened up beautifully and then we sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese on the top of each bowl. Served with warm flour tortillas. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This soup was very tasty with just the right amount of spice and flavor. I love potato soup and this recipe is definitely a keeper!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I substituted ground turkey for the ground beef but it still was very lovely. The soup was wonderfully filling. I was worried that it might be a bit too hot for me at first but after the first bite I knew it was just right. This recipe was definately a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was ok. My teens didn't like it (one of them is a spicy fanatic), and neither did my husband. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great soup, I did add two dried habanero peppers instead of hot sauce since I like things spicy. And cut back drastically on the salt due to diet restrictions. Used none instead of 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Engelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Was not to bad at all. I changed the cups of water to Beef Stock and added in some Garlic. I also roasted some Tomatoes and put them in the blender to replace two of the cans of sauce and therefore cutting down on the sodium. Helps for the Kidney patients out there like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granddadof10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States