Spicy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
We loved this recipe but did make a few changes: used ground turkey, added garlic and fresh jalepeno, and substituted a can of stewed tomatoes for the tomato sauce. We'll be making it again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Excellent. You can have toppings for this at the table: cilantro, cheddar cheese, bacon bits, sour cream, sliced green onions, croutons... and, of course, a bottle of tobasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Really good soup. I realized midway thru preparation that I only had 1 8 oz can tomato sauce, so substituted a can of diced tomatoes, 2 cups of V-8 juice and 1 can tomato soup. It still came out good. I also used a hand blender to blend the soup to more of a smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Surprisingly flavorful, despite the small number of ingredients. I was expecting it to be bland, but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
family loved, nice change from normal potato soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brownwood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I really needed to go to the store, but was waiting on a check. Luckily, I had ground beef and potatoes. I was great! Quick and easy. Topped with shredded cheese. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was very good but I added a can of Mexican corn and made it even better. The family really enjoyed it, too. Will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I have made this many times. It is great as directed, but my favorite thing to do is add a diced up zucchini and a handfull of barley, some frozen corn and a can of stewed tomatoes. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefsgirl
Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My family liked this recipe. I made it last night, and it was good. To me it was pretty bland though. It definately needed more flavor! I added more hot sauce to my bowl, and that helped a lot. I also added more spices than were in the recipe, to the whole pot. I added some lemon pepper (i put that in alomst everything) also some chilli powder. It was pretty good. I used red onion to give it more color. I also prefer to cook with red onion. Not too bad, but will spice it up even more if I try it again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was delicious! Instead of the ground beef, I kicked it up a notch and used ground spicy Italian sausage, which I added garlic to while cooking. I added a chopped green bell pepper, used spicy V-8 instead of the tomato sauce and since I hate the flavor of Tobasco sauce, I used Sriracha chili sauce in it's place. Threw everything into the crock pot and cooked on high for 5 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States