Spicy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent and easy to make! I used ground turkey and thinly sliced potatoes. I also added frozen corn and carrots. Fantastic fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was ok, not even 4 star worthy. I even seasoned the ground beef while it was browning and used manwhich sauce instead of tomato sauce for more flavor. However, it was just ok to help me get rid of some things i needed to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
We love it! Its a great cool weather/winter treat and I always serve it with fresh/homemade bread. Most of my family/guests prefer it a little thick and add grated cheddar cheese and/or a dollop of sour cream into their bowl. I adjust the spiciness depending on who's to eat it and sometimes if for folks on bland diets, I'll toss in a bag of frozen veggies. Also, instead of tomato sauce (24oz) I use tomato paste and water to an approx 24oz mix. The tomato sauce doesn't sustain as much flavor as the paste and its also saltier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Was not to bad at all. I changed the cups of water to Beef Stock and added in some Garlic. I also roasted some Tomatoes and put them in the blender to replace two of the cans of sauce and therefore cutting down on the sodium. Helps for the Kidney patients out there like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Adamson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was ok. My teens didn't like it (one of them is a spicy fanatic), and neither did my husband. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great soup, I did add two dried habanero peppers instead of hot sauce since I like things spicy. And cut back drastically on the salt due to diet restrictions. Used none instead of 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Engelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very yummy! I substituted extra lean ground pork for the ground beef since I just bought it on sale and served the soup with shredded mozzarella, which the kids loved, and sriracha hot sauce on the side for the parents who like it extra hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was pretty good, but nothing to write home about. I may make again just to change things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I was dubious about making this. I made it and Reubens (Reubens for 4 and soup for 2). I left out the hot sauce for the kids. 5 outa 6 people loved it! My son said it was bland (told him to add the hot sauce). My husband kept saying it was "the best beef stew he had ever had!" I kept telling him it was 'potatoe soup', but he just said it was "better than Dinty Moore" (which is high praise from him. LOL) Thanks for a great recipe! I will be making it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Yummy! Using what was on hand, I used 2 cups of tomato puree & 1 cup of canned stewed tomatoes (with celery, green peppers & onions) instead of the tomato sauce. I accidently chopped 1/2 of the potatoes instead of cubing them all, which I was pleased with since it helped thicken the soup up. I also added a little more sea salt before it was done cooking. My fella & I are from the south so when he decided to add some brown sugar to his serving, I tried it too & loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States