Spicy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Was not to bad at all. I changed the cups of water to Beef Stock and added in some Garlic. I also roasted some Tomatoes and put them in the blender to replace two of the cans of sauce and therefore cutting down on the sodium. Helps for the Kidney patients out there like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granddadof10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was ok. My teens didn't like it (one of them is a spicy fanatic), and neither did my husband. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great soup, I did add two dried habanero peppers instead of hot sauce since I like things spicy. And cut back drastically on the salt due to diet restrictions. Used none instead of 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Engelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very yummy! I substituted extra lean ground pork for the ground beef since I just bought it on sale and served the soup with shredded mozzarella, which the kids loved, and sriracha hot sauce on the side for the parents who like it extra hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was pretty good, but nothing to write home about. I may make again just to change things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I was dubious about making this. I made it and Reubens (Reubens for 4 and soup for 2). I left out the hot sauce for the kids. 5 outa 6 people loved it! My son said it was bland (told him to add the hot sauce). My husband kept saying it was "the best beef stew he had ever had!" I kept telling him it was 'potatoe soup', but he just said it was "better than Dinty Moore" (which is high praise from him. LOL) Thanks for a great recipe! I will be making it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Yummy! Using what was on hand, I used 2 cups of tomato puree & 1 cup of canned stewed tomatoes (with celery, green peppers & onions) instead of the tomato sauce. I accidently chopped 1/2 of the potatoes instead of cubing them all, which I was pleased with since it helped thicken the soup up. I also added a little more sea salt before it was done cooking. My fella & I are from the south so when he decided to add some brown sugar to his serving, I tried it too & loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
We loved this recipe but did make a few changes: used ground turkey, added garlic and fresh jalepeno, and substituted a can of stewed tomatoes for the tomato sauce. We'll be making it again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Excellent. You can have toppings for this at the table: cilantro, cheddar cheese, bacon bits, sour cream, sliced green onions, croutons... and, of course, a bottle of tobasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Really good soup. I realized midway thru preparation that I only had 1 8 oz can tomato sauce, so substituted a can of diced tomatoes, 2 cups of V-8 juice and 1 can tomato soup. It still came out good. I also used a hand blender to blend the soup to more of a smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States