Spicy Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I could tell from reading the recipe that this needed some significant alterations, but I liked the idea and I was in the mood for something spicy so I went ahead. I cut back on the amount of liquid (4-5 cups rather than 8) and used veggie broth for more flavor. I added garlic when I was frying up the potatoes, and I added about 1 1/2 tsp. paprika and 1 tsp. cumin. These changes made the soup much better, but there was still something missing to make it five stars. The idea is still good and it's pretty easy to make with ingredients I usually keep in stock. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I found this quite bland at first taste. But after I added more salt, dried herbs and vegetable stock this became delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
The heat was great from the peppers, but there is too much water. I could tell when I poured in half of the amount that it did not need any more to be 'soupy'. In order to boost the flavor, I would add either vegetable broth to keep it vegetarian, or chicken broth or stock, and some garlic & chopped tomatoes. As written, it is watery, but has wonderful potential. I could see how the peppers could help a head cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
We liked this soup but did not find it to be very spicy. I used two chiles with seeds but still found it needing more spice. I also added beef bouillion for more flavor and cut the water to 6 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This is absolutely delicious as is, and also good with vegetarian chicken added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Husband isn't a big fan of soup nor potatoes, but he really enjoyed this. The only thing I did differently was to use vegetable stock instead of water. With some homemade crusty bread, this was a great lunch on a chilly day. Thanks, Felicia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
The recipe I submitted is a little bit different from what is on this site. The serrano chiles are not supposed to seeded and diced. They are supposed to be halved, with seeds. Also, there should be enough paprika to make the broth almost red-like 1 oz. The potatoes should be fried in the pot first for about 5 minutes, like you are making home fries. Corn tortillas and lime is a great way to serve the soup. Some of the water evaporates if you cook the soup uncovered. Good Luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
My rating is based on the recipe with the following changes: 2 cans chopped green chilis instead of the serrano chilis, 2 cans beef broth instead of the water (8c would have been way too much liquid for our liking), added cumin and chili powder. With those changes/additions, this was a wonderful soup, very warm and comforting! Not spicy at all this way, just good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
I'm not quite sure if I did something wrong in the preparation of this soup, but this was not a very good 'soup' at all..it was basically potatoes, peppers a few seasonings and some water. Not much flavor, and certainly not worth the time it took to prepare...the potatoes took quite a while to brown and I would say prep time including the browning of the potatoes was at least a 1/2 hour or so. Actual cook time/simmer time was about 35 minutes as stated...other ratings show that others have enjoyed this recipe, but we didn't like it...we ended up draining off the liquid and just having the potatoes and peppers with a dollop of sour cream..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This soup is great! It's so delicious, so easy to make and so cheap! I added a little less water, more chilli and some cumin :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States