Spicy Pork Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Very good. I used red pepper flakes and canned green chiles for heat. Liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Loved it until I added the vinegar and lime juice. The whole batch was ruined by the overwhelming sourness despite my attempts to bring it back. Trying again tonight but will definitely not be adding the same amount of lime and vinegar!! Love the spice and crunch of the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
The consistency of the sauce was perfect, but the flavor was too strong. I wish I hadn't wasted the veggies, pork, and rice by mixing them with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Blake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I was so excited to make this for dinner tonight. Oh boy, was/am I disappointed. The lime and the vinegar are just too strong (I followed the recipe). It tasted like no Szechuan dish I have ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan St John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I followed this pretty closely except was using up left over pork tenderloin, cut in narrow strips, I think I also was trying to use up zuchinni so added that too. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
We loved this recipe- my spicy loving son and husband want it to be a regular addition to our menu. For the non spicy girls I used red bell pepper instead of chili peppers. However, I read reviews first and tweaked it according to our chinese food tastes. I changed rice vinegar to 2 tsp instead of tbsp. I added 2 cloves minced garlic to pork marinade.I switched 2 tbsp sweet chili sauce for chili oil and I added 1 cup chicken broth at end of cooking to make it saucier. I made 1/2 spicy and 1/2 not, and both were good, but the spicy was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
If you like authentic restaurant food and like your vegetables with a nice crisp bite to them this is a good recipe to start with but the cooking instructions need tweaking. I marinated thinly sliced pork tenderloin minus the corn starch and added the extra corn starch to the "lime" mixture. Actually I used pineapple juice instead of lime juice because I don't care for lime in this type of recipe. I stir fried the thin pork strips quickly in peanut oil until just tender and removed from the wok. I added a wee bit more oil and then all the veggies, stirred them around until they were glossy and a bright crisp color (1 min or so), added the sauce mixture and the pork with it's juices and cooked just until the sauce was cooked through and thickened up. Total cooking time wasn't more than 6 minutes after the wok heated up. I also added pineapple chunks to mine. Stir frying the meat 6 minutes and then cooking another 6 minutes with the veggies and sauce just makes everything too mushy and overcooked for my taste. Next time I make this I'll only use 1 tsp of sesame oil and 1/2 tsp of hot chili sauce instead of using green chili peppers and chili oil. Play around with your own variation of ingredients. Nice jump off recipe as long as you don't over cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Modifications: Had no rice vinegar,lime juice or chili oil or seseame oil....used lemon juice and no vinegar, olive oil and hot bannana peppers....I added brown sugar. Added broccoli and bean sprouts as well. However, next time will make more sauce....other than that it was tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie Justice Yost
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I love stir fry recipes because I often have a plethora of random, leftover veggies in my kitchen and this is a great way to eat them! I usually make my stir fry sauce with peanut butter but after finding out I didn't have any, I turned my attention to this recipe. I had to use a lemon instead of a lime because I had it on hand and it was great. I used tofu instead of pork, and didn't marinate it beforehand. I changed up the veggies to fit our needs and used some green and orange bell pepper, white onions, mushrooms, zucchini, and yellow squash, and broccoli. Served it over brown rice and it was oh-so-tasty! I added some spicy Chinese mustard to mine, too, since I left out the chile peppers. Oh, and I used cashews instead of peanuts (again, pantry contents.) Already dreaming of the leftovers that are in the fridge for my lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Justice Yost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This could be a lot better. First of all, you don't need to use pork tenderloin. The price is really high, and if you use a cheaper cut, it's just fine. I don't know any Chinese restaurants (and I live in a city with a huge Asian population) that uses tenderloin for this kind of dish. Second, cut the pork into strips. "Cubes" is really non-descriptive, and if you cut the pork into stew-sized cubes, they will never get tender enough. Third, this is not really that spicy. I saw that from the start and put some chili sauce into the lime mixture and it still wasn't really spicy. Use lots of chili sauce. And fourth, cut back on the cornstarch in the lime juice or it will thicken immediately. At least that's what happened to me with a high heat burner. I added some Chinese rice wine to the lime mixture also, I think that helped but next time I will use the rice wine and omit the vinegar, which made it end up a little too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States