Spicy Pork Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
There is a great mix of flavors and textures in this recipe if you don't blow it by following it too closely (ha!). The lime and vinegar are definitely strong, even for a lime and vinegar lover like myself. I ended up adding sugar at the end to even up the field a little, but the consistency of the sauce was great as written (I was a little surprised at that - I thought there might be too much cornstarch). I like my veggies barely-done to crisp-tender, so the 6-8 minutes on the carrots and peas would have killed this recipe for me. I also added mushrooms and zucchini. I cooked the pork first and set it aside, then did the mushrooms, added the carrots for a few minutes, then the zucchini, snap peas, and pork in just to heat through (which got my zucchini and peas just the way I like them). I like the spice and the overall flavor, but definitely had to play around with this to get it where I wanted it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Modifications I made: omitted the cornstarch from the marinade (for fewer carbs); sliced the pork thinly instead of cubes (turned out nice and tender!); used lemon b/c I had it on-hand; omitted chile peppers and chili oil, using instead a tsp. or two of red pepper flakes, fried with the ginger; added 1 sm red bell pepper and 1/2 white onion, omitted green onion; didn't bother to julianne the peas and didn't chop the peanuts. Turned out spicy enough for our tastes (I like a little bite but no burn), but the vinegar overwhelmed the rest of the flavors. The lemon juice may have also played into the overpowering tang this dish had. I'll use this recipe as a base in the future but do something a little less tangy for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
I absolutely loved the taste of the pork and soy sauce marinade! It cooked up beautifully! I always try to substitute cooking spray for any olive oil and I must say it did not diminish any flavor in my book! This recipe was beautiful until I added the 1 Tbs soy sauce, 2 Tbs rice vinegar, 1 tsp cornstarch, and 3 tsp dark sesame oil! My sugar snap peas just soaked up the vinegar taste and ruined the whole recipe! I added honey to try and tone down the vinegar flavor! After adding the honey, the vinegar taste was toned down just a bit! I had to pick out all the sugar peas to make the recipe tolerable again! I beseech any other home-makers to not add the second bit of soy sauce, rice vinegar, cornstarch, and sesame oil! Without that, this recipe is FANTASTIC! An absolutely perfect bite! I will definately cook this again but, leave out the aforementioned ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This received mixed reviews at my house. My son gave it 5 stars and my husband gave it 3. I enjoyed the unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
loved this! So much flavor; will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very good - I made revisions according to my taste. I used leftover pork loin roast that I julienned, so I omitted the marinade (cooking time was also reduced overall). I also omitted the chili peppers, as I don't like such blazingly hot food I can't taste anything else (plus I didn't have them). The chili oil was changed to a 1/2 tsp. of chili paste with garlic (and I added a few quartered mushrooms to the veggies). Very nice quick weeknight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was very tastey. I omitted the chile oil and the chile because my son doesn't like hot food. Instead ofusing peanut oil I used 2 ts. of olive oil. Was a hit, I also only used 1 1/2 ts. of sessame oil because of the fat grams. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I loved this recipe. I made it low fat by eliminating all but 1 1/2 tsp of sesame oil, using 3 jalapeno peppers, whole button mushrooms and hot sauce. I'm making another batch today to freeze in small one portion containers. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very good - had to play with the ingredients a little based on what was in my cupboard - I used lemon juice, instead of lime, and sambel oolek instead of fresh chilies. I added mirin to the sauce. I used crushed cashews instead of peanuts. Overall it turned out great and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made some adjustments to this recipe so I'm going to rate this manly on the sauce so here goes. I used a left over cooked tendorloin that I grilled last night. I thought it would work because the marinade was lime, garlic, ginger, peppers, soy and sesame oil. For the folks that thought it had a lot of lime flavor...maybe use half a lime. That is what I did because I had a large lime. I think what folks may have been picking up on was the acid flavor from the lime and from the rice vinegar. I thought the sauce flavor was ok. The next time I would cut back the rice vinegar to 1 TBS and increase the soy or eliminate the lime or the rice vinegar (I'm not sure you need both). I also would use 1/2 of a SMALL lime if you want to. I also added a clove a garlic (what stir fry doesn't have garlic?) I actually had to re-read the recipe to make sure I didn't miss it. I would add more garlic next time (2-3 cloves). The recipe called for green chiles. In the Southwest that can mean many different things. I used 1/2 jalapeno and I would use a whole one next time. I think you loose a lot of the "heat" when you heat up the jalapenos. I did add the chile oil in the end, but it was not spicey for my taste (my pickey one ate it with no complaints read not spicey at all). All in all it was an ok recipe. I have some other stir fry recipes that I enjoy better. I think this one could be tweaked to make an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States