Spicy Pork Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
This was easy to make and wasn't the worst thing I've ever eaten, but also wasn't the best. It was only okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Very simple to make and very tasty. I did tone down the peppers and chile oil first time around to ensure not too hot, will turn up the heat a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
I absolutely loved the taste of the pork and soy sauce marinade! It cooked up beautifully! I always try to substitute cooking spray for any olive oil and I must say it did not diminish any flavor in my book! This recipe was beautiful until I added the 1 Tbs soy sauce, 2 Tbs rice vinegar, 1 tsp cornstarch, and 3 tsp dark sesame oil! My sugar snap peas just soaked up the vinegar taste and ruined the whole recipe! I added honey to try and tone down the vinegar flavor! After adding the honey, the vinegar taste was toned down just a bit! I had to pick out all the sugar peas to make the recipe tolerable again! I beseech any other home-makers to not add the second bit of soy sauce, rice vinegar, cornstarch, and sesame oil! Without that, this recipe is FANTASTIC! An absolutely perfect bite! I will definately cook this again but, leave out the aforementioned ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Very tasty! I added sliced mushrooms, bell peppers, and white onion. We really enjoyed this recipe but it was not as spicy as I expected. I will turn up the heat next. A definite keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
My family loved this recipe. I added some cabbage, red bell pepper, and a little more chili oil than specified. After I dished out my son's portion, I added some crushed red pepper to spice it up even more (we love spicey food). The pork was very tender and flavorful. No leftovers means this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This recipe was very tasty and unique. There are just a few things I will tinker with, including the amount of chili oil (or substitute). It was spicy, but perhaps not as spicy as it could have been. We did not use the chopped peanuts included at the end of the recipe, and I think it did not make the slightest difference. We will definitely add this one to our "recipe rotation"! Thanks, Lorna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This received mixed reviews at my house. My son gave it 5 stars and my husband gave it 3. I enjoyed the unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
it lit my mouth on fire! nice job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I thought this was great. I loved the flavor. I didn't have chili oil so used red pepper flakes instead. I just about tripled the "sauce" (lime juice etc) but only used 1.5 chili peppers. I didn't have the snap peas, but did have broccoli and mushrooms so I included those. This is for sure a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Modifications I made: omitted the cornstarch from the marinade (for fewer carbs); sliced the pork thinly instead of cubes (turned out nice and tender!); used lemon b/c I had it on-hand; omitted chile peppers and chili oil, using instead a tsp. or two of red pepper flakes, fried with the ginger; added 1 sm red bell pepper and 1/2 white onion, omitted green onion; didn't bother to julianne the peas and didn't chop the peanuts. Turned out spicy enough for our tastes (I like a little bite but no burn), but the vinegar overwhelmed the rest of the flavors. The lemon juice may have also played into the overpowering tang this dish had. I'll use this recipe as a base in the future but do something a little less tangy for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States