Spicy Pineapple Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I'd give this 3.5 stars, really, but since that's not an option, I'll bump up to 4. Not a bad sauce, nothing really amazing about it either though. Made a nice sauce for chicken meatballs for a tropical-themed potluck. Was a tad on the sweet side, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I added a teaspoon of garlic to the sauce and served it over grilled chicken that had marinated in spicy ginger marinade. I served over a bed of rice and garnished with green onions, cilantro and toasted coconut. We had sweet potatoes on the side. It all went together very well and was as yummy as it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I used this as a sauce for the Polynesian chicken wraps from this site and it was wonderful! I used a can of crushed pineapple in pineapple juice (not in heavy syrup and I didn't reserve the juice to add in later) and added the cornstarch and ginger to it and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Pretty good, I had to add sugar to sweeten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Very good sauce. Used over ham balls instead of the usual mustard-spiced sauce with fantastic results. My husband kept trying to sneak more after dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My pantry & fridge is seriously depleted. I am out of fresh ginger, ground ginger & I don't have any of that nifty "ginger-in-a-tube". So I used chopped candied ginger. My pineapple was in light juice not heavy syrup so I didn't even bother to wash the sugar off. I used real maple syrup & added a couple of tbp extra because I was topping pork w/ this & I love maple & pork. I also added several twists of black pepper. I sauteed small jerk-seasoned (store brand) pork medallions in some olive oil, served them on top of a bed of jasmine rice w/ chopped bell pepper (I added it about halfway through the rice's cooking time) & "drizzled" the pineapple sauce over all. Very good! There is quite a bit leftover (I didn't scale down the recipe) so I will try the leftovers on some frozen meatballs. Thanks Michele O'Sullivan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kira
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I created this dish for 10lbs of meatballs at work and the residents loved it as a little happy hour treat! I thought it was pretty tasty myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Pairs perfectly with the Spicy Polynesians Wraps from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Different and delicious. This was perfect for my "luau" themed birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Awesome! Used with the "Spicy Polynesian Wraps" from this site and it was delish! I used 1/4 fresh pineapple and added 2T corn syrup. I put everything in the food processor and pureed it, poured it in the saucepan, brought to a light boil and let it simmer for about 5-7 minutes. Just the right texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States