Spicy Pecan Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this as is with about two cups of pecans instead of three, when it was completed I didn't care for the taste. However later I added chicken and it tasted wonderful. I ate it as a soup however I think it would also be good served over white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I was quite disappointed by the lack of wow factor with this soup. I roasted the pecans and I think that did help with the flavor a little bit. I added 2 whole chipotles but I think this was too much - one would have been sufficient and we love spicy food. Overall, a decent starter course but definitely not for dinner and not one I'll make the effort to make too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Oh bliss! I'm a definite pecan-lover, so this soup sounded like something I would like. Took the advice of KymInNM and left out tomato paste, and that of Nuttycat22 and roasted the pecans first, and it is divine! I used sea salt on the pecans as they roasted, and then used the sea salt from the pan to season the soup when it was done. Thank you for the recipe, I will certainly make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I haven't made it yet but am anxious too! After reading the recipe and the reviews it seemed to me that if you toast the Pecans, it might add a depth of flavor that you are missing. I am going to try toasting them and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was okay but it lacked something I thought. The blended pecans resembled ground beef which was deceiving. Maybe I would have liked it better with meat? I'm not sure? It wasn't bad and it was a nice change but it cost a lot to make it for not a lot of WOW factor. If you love pecans, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was very good and easy to make, but it wasn't quite as interesting as I thought it would be. It tasted like tomato-chipotle soup; the pecans added more texture than flavor. I used veg broth and coconut milk (my standard sub for cream); otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I'd probably try this again and use a tomato rather than paste--or omit it altogether. A dried chipotle would add an interesting smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I got a little heavy handed on the chipotle's, so I put some sour cream on the table, but being from New Mexico, none of my guests thought it was too hot. Tasty and different. A nice company soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Artesia, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Unique and was enjoyed by most. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States