Spicy Pear Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This recipe has been a huge family favorite for years. Everyone else I've made them for also raves. Using RIPE pears (D'Anjous are my favorite) takes care of the dry, crumbly part and the glaze actually makes them taste less sweet to me because of the lemon. YMMV, but try them if you are at all interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I didn't use nearly as much cinnamon or ginger (didn't really want SPICY cookies), but 1/2 teaspoon of each gave me delicious, slightly spiced pear cookies. I used a bosc pear, which is important in preserving the texture of the cookies (bosc pears are not watery and don't leak moisture when baking). Oh, and I think the frosting is superfluous since these cookies are VERY sweet (and I even cut 1/4 cup of the sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Not sure what I did wrong, but the dough came out very crumbly. There was no way that it could have been "dropped" at all. I made it into a bar cookie, but that came out more cake-ish, and took twice as long to cook. I like the taste, and I will probably make this again just to see if I did it wrong the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These are pretty good. Spicy, with a nice pear flavor when you bite into a pear. These are definitely more of a cake like cookie, so keep that in mind. I actually think they'd make some pretty awesome muffins, truth be told, so I think I'll try that next. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was a perfectly good recipe! I was concerned that the cookie dough was very crumbly, but after adding the nuts and pears (I didn't put raisins in the cookies), the dough came together. I put them in small flattened disks (about 3/4 inch thick or so) on the cookie sheets lined with parchment and they were wonderful! Iced or not, these are a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Photo by adelleable
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Mine came out amazing. I skipped the nuts & raisins and used two small, very ripe pears. My cookies turned out fluffy, perfectly moist and SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
One of the best cookies I've ever had! It's got soft muffin-like texture, so much spice, however it was difficult to taste the pears. Still fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very much a favorite at our house. I tend to use a bit more pears and then bake it as a bar cookie. But either way it's delicious and my kids gobble it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I used 1.5 not-quite-ripe Bartlett pears that I chopped finely in a food processor. This gave the cookies a nice pear flavor without being too wet. I soaked my raisins in water first to plump them up and add moistness to the cookies as well. Don't worry about your batter looking too dry; when you add the pears and raisins it adds a lot of moistness very quickly. Do not expect a typical cookie out of this recipe - it's not very sweet and is very soft with an almost cupcake-like consistency. I also ussed a teaspon of very finely minced fresh ginger instead of the powdered; it gives them a nice autumn-y kick. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These tasted really good but as previous reviewers stated they were pretty soft and moist... wet really! It might've been my juicy (over-ripe?) pears tho, will try "drier" pears next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States