Spicy Pear Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is one of my absolute favorite fruit cookie recipes. I found it when looking for recipes to use all the pears my sister gave me and I'm so glad. Cookies are melt-in-your-mouth amazing and the pear and spices give it an amazing flavor. Dough can sometimes seem dry until you add the chopped pear. My friends and I often include this in our holiday cookie baking rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mystinkypete
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
After a dismal attempt at making pear muffins (turned out way too moist), I made a tamer version of these Spicy Pear Cookies. I subbed the raisins with shredded coconut bits instead and left out the ginger & walnuts. Brought some into work this morning and they seemed to be a hit! I am a very novice baker/cook, so this easy recipe and its tasty result really made me feel just a bit more capable in the kitchen, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mystinkypete

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by RobTanner
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Really nice... Doubled up on the spice, and used one and a half pears. Made 6 dozen small cookies at a tablespoon each of the crumbly dough. Adding the nut meat on top is a nice touch, didn't add the icing as it wasn't really needed for a not to sweet soft cookie. Update: really nice with the icing, I needed to add a little more lemon juice but once smooth, put it in a small bag, cut off the corner, and pipe it onto the cookies..... Yummy and not to sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobTanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This recipe has been a huge family favorite for years. Everyone else I've made them for also raves. Using RIPE pears (D'Anjous are my favorite) takes care of the dry, crumbly part and the glaze actually makes them taste less sweet to me because of the lemon. YMMV, but try them if you are at all interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I didn't use nearly as much cinnamon or ginger (didn't really want SPICY cookies), but 1/2 teaspoon of each gave me delicious, slightly spiced pear cookies. I used a bosc pear, which is important in preserving the texture of the cookies (bosc pears are not watery and don't leak moisture when baking). Oh, and I think the frosting is superfluous since these cookies are VERY sweet (and I even cut 1/4 cup of the sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Not sure what I did wrong, but the dough came out very crumbly. There was no way that it could have been "dropped" at all. I made it into a bar cookie, but that came out more cake-ish, and took twice as long to cook. I like the taste, and I will probably make this again just to see if I did it wrong the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These are pretty good. Spicy, with a nice pear flavor when you bite into a pear. These are definitely more of a cake like cookie, so keep that in mind. I actually think they'd make some pretty awesome muffins, truth be told, so I think I'll try that next. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was a perfectly good recipe! I was concerned that the cookie dough was very crumbly, but after adding the nuts and pears (I didn't put raisins in the cookies), the dough came together. I put them in small flattened disks (about 3/4 inch thick or so) on the cookie sheets lined with parchment and they were wonderful! Iced or not, these are a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Photo by adelleable
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Mine came out amazing. I skipped the nuts & raisins and used two small, very ripe pears. My cookies turned out fluffy, perfectly moist and SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
One of the best cookies I've ever had! It's got soft muffin-like texture, so much spice, however it was difficult to taste the pears. Still fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States