Spicy Peanut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Ok, so I read the other reviews and can see where they might have not liked this dish, but this is an excellent dish to tweak and make amazing. For starters I cut back on some ingredients. I omitted the cayenne, cut the chunky peanut butter to 1 cup creamy, and cut the chili sauce to only 1 tablespoon. In place of the 2nd cup of peanut butter, I added 1/2 cup of peanuts (this will cut back on the peanut butter flavor and give it a little peanut crunch). I also changed the soy sauce to ¼ cup and added a lot of garlic and onion powder to the sauce. I then added 1 tablespoon of fish sauce. In lieu of the 3 ½ cups water, I added 2 cups of chicken broth. I do not like chow mien noodles, so I kept those out all together. With these changes you will have a creamy (not too thick) sauce with an amazing flavor. Add directly and simmer it with the cooked chicken for about 5 to 10 minutes before tossing with the noodles. Right at serving, I highly suggest chopping up clean fresh cilantro and green onions and topping each plate. The cilantro gives it that extra Thai flavor. With these changes I swear it was very similar to my favorite Pei Wei Thai chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great starting point, but needs some alterations - as it stands, it comes out WAY too peanut buttery and the sauce too thick. I added some additional sriracha and soy sauce, then thinned the sauce with milk. Additional moves to create a thinner sauce could be welcome. If I made it again, would also look to add some onion (vidalia probably) for additional texture and flavor (sweetness). Again, a very good starting point, but play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I'm sorry, I've been married 18 years and have never served a meal that was so bad no one could eat it! No one is a picky eater either, we all pretty much will eat anything and try anything, but this was just.....I don't know. Perhaps there are some out there that liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
My husband liked it, but I didn't. Too peanut butttery for me. I would make it again if I was asked but not other wise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I omitted the chicken and chow mein noodles. Excellent otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We did not like this dish...way too spicy. I would not make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe Da

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I added more spices and less peanut butter. My boyfriend and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I modified the recipe and used about half the amount of peanut butter to reduce the fat and it was absolutely scrumptious. Next time, I'll reduce the water used too, but it was still delicious! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States