Spicy Peach Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
At first, I thought there was way too much sugar and vinegar for the amount of peaches I was putting into the pot. After cooking this down to a desired consistency, I was then sure that there was way too much sugar and vinegar for my taste. It's so sticky sweet and sour my teeth scream just smelling it. I'd love to try this again with a quarter the amount of sgr and about a third as much vin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
very tasty, could have been altitude(Denver) but simmer turned to low boil in order to get chutney-like consistency with two hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
By the time time sauce had cooked down to a relish consistency, the original peaches had been converted to mush. I added 10 more chopped peaches (about 3 pounds) and 3 more cloves of garlic to brighten up the flavors & visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is a beautiful recipe. Better than any chutney you buy in the store. This mellows and becomes wonderful with age so leave it at least a month before eating. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I love Indian food. Eat it all the time. This is my first time making chutney, and was I lucky to get this recipe. It is perfect exactly the way as written. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
The spices are fine but the result is too "vinegary" and liquid after 2.5 hours cooking. I decided to recook the pints for another hour with an additional 2 cups of cut-up peaches. The result is much improved with preaches that look like peaches, not brown sludge. So, increase cooking time, add more peaches at the end so they don't dissolve, and recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I am not used to chutneys, and my curries are very mild. That being said, this stuff is like manna from heaven. Fantastic stuff! I made enough for my wife and I to have with dinner so I cut this recipe way back. Only using one peach and I used fresh ginger, I did not have any preserved ginger sitting around. I gave it 5 stars as I thought it was great stuff. I will be making a larger batch, but almost hate to as the fresh was so good I can't see the canned being as good. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Really delicious! I also added a little more garlic and used fresh ginger because I didn't have any of the preserved stuff - and I added a few cardamons (because I like the taste). A great way of using up excess peaches when there is a glut. Thank you fro sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe. This chutney is great with curries, cheese, cold meats - very tasty. Like some other reviewers, I had a problem when reducing the mixture to the right consistency - took about 3 hours eventually, but well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! I really like the flavor of this chutney, but found it to be much too acidic for my liking. I ended up adding more peaches and some roasted red peppers to try to cut the acidity of the vinegar. After checking out many ginger-peach jam recipes, I think I can safely cut the vinegar down by at least half next time. This first batch made ~ 11 half-pints, and that includes adding an extra pound or so of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States