Spicy Peach Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Love this, became a quick favorite of mine and many friends. I double the recipe to have some on hand as easy hostess gifts. I felt the highest compliment I got for this came from my brother-in-law, who said he finally tried it after it sat for months on the shelf and then he ate the whole 1/2 pint with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Savenelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Really good. Hubby brought back 2 pecks peaches from his trip to SC that were delicious but too many to eat. Made this and modified the recipe slightly to accommodate a low sugar need. Used 2 cups of splenda/brown sugar mix in place of all brown sugar. Also had a bag of dried tart cherries in pantry didn't know what to do with so I added them. This turned out soooo good. I ended up with 9- half pints. I used 4 lbs of sliced peaches, not 4 pounds of peaches sliced. Could be the difference. Next time I might add some dried apricot - he's in S. Carolina again and it's still peach season!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
At first, I thought there was way too much sugar and vinegar for the amount of peaches I was putting into the pot. After cooking this down to a desired consistency, I was then sure that there was way too much sugar and vinegar for my taste. It's so sticky sweet and sour my teeth scream just smelling it. I'd love to try this again with a quarter the amount of sgr and about a third as much vin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
very tasty, could have been altitude(Denver) but simmer turned to low boil in order to get chutney-like consistency with two hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
By the time time sauce had cooked down to a relish consistency, the original peaches had been converted to mush. I added 10 more chopped peaches (about 3 pounds) and 3 more cloves of garlic to brighten up the flavors & visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is a beautiful recipe. Better than any chutney you buy in the store. This mellows and becomes wonderful with age so leave it at least a month before eating. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I love Indian food. Eat it all the time. This is my first time making chutney, and was I lucky to get this recipe. It is perfect exactly the way as written. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
The spices are fine but the result is too "vinegary" and liquid after 2.5 hours cooking. I decided to recook the pints for another hour with an additional 2 cups of cut-up peaches. The result is much improved with preaches that look like peaches, not brown sludge. So, increase cooking time, add more peaches at the end so they don't dissolve, and recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I am not used to chutneys, and my curries are very mild. That being said, this stuff is like manna from heaven. Fantastic stuff! I made enough for my wife and I to have with dinner so I cut this recipe way back. Only using one peach and I used fresh ginger, I did not have any preserved ginger sitting around. I gave it 5 stars as I thought it was great stuff. I will be making a larger batch, but almost hate to as the fresh was so good I can't see the canned being as good. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Really delicious! I also added a little more garlic and used fresh ginger because I didn't have any of the preserved stuff - and I added a few cardamons (because I like the taste). A great way of using up excess peaches when there is a glut. Thank you fro sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States