Spicy Peach Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe. This chutney is great with curries, cheese, cold meats - very tasty. Like some other reviewers, I had a problem when reducing the mixture to the right consistency - took about 3 hours eventually, but well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! I really like the flavor of this chutney, but found it to be much too acidic for my liking. I ended up adding more peaches and some roasted red peppers to try to cut the acidity of the vinegar. After checking out many ginger-peach jam recipes, I think I can safely cut the vinegar down by at least half next time. This first batch made ~ 11 half-pints, and that includes adding an extra pound or so of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I gave this chutney as Christmas gifts for 2009 and kept a couple of jars for myself. I just loved it and am going to make it again tomorrow (just for moi!) The way I ended up using it the most was with goat cheese and crackers AND...mixing 1/2 Vegenaise and 1/2 chutney to use on my Boca Burgers (I'm certain that this would be just as awesome tasting using real mayo and real burgers) Yum yum...Can hardly wait for tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been making this same recipe for about 40 years now (I've lost track of the number of batches). A couple of things I have learned: 1. Mix all ingredients in a large bowel, cover with a dish cloth and let sit overnight - the flavor becomes deeper 2. Cook time for thickness will vary based on the ripeness of the peaches. I usually cook 2 hours... and as suggested when my patience is not there or time does not allow, a little pectin goes a long way. 3. Roasted garlic if you have time adds a slightly more robust taste. This is a standard in my house with grilled meats and salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
If it looks like soup or a sauce, don't panic! CHEAT! ;) You can still save your time and money you invested. Just add some gelatin and/or pectin. You can find it in any large grocery store in the baking isle and it only costs a couple of dollars. One box should do it. It will vary depending on how long you have cooked down the chutney. I wished I didn't leave mine on the stove simmering while I went to the store. I would have liked it more fresh than dark brown Also, I would slice the peaches a good centimeter in thickness and cut the segment in half. Because when you cook down the chutney, you want some peach substance left over. Once you have added the pectin, you won't notice the set until you have cooled the chutney down. Anyways, it may not be te conventional way, and I'm not too sure it changed how the original recipe's was suppose to taste, but it shouldn't have and worked and tasted great! I just gave it a stir after I cooled it down in the fridge and I got nice thick chutney suitable for Indian Royalty. If you're looking for something a bit different then this is the one. There is no doubt that when you serve this to your guests, that it's homemade, cause you can't buy something like this in the store. But make sure you have fun with the recipe and play with it..make it your own, if you love onions, add more onions. That's the fun of cooking, and if you're like me, it's never the same the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
fabulous chutney recipe! i had peaches from my tree to use up and this was perfect! i made it just as it was written, except i used golden raisins, and crystallized ginger (couldn't find any preserved). i simmered it for a little longer than 1 1/2 hours only because my canning jars needed a little longer to sterilize ;) turned out wonderfully though, my mum loves chutney (british and used to good indian food) and she raved and asked for another jar. makes a great gift. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easycookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This adds way to much liquid. No amount of cooking will reduce this to the semi-paste consistency of good chutney which is just slightly thinner than marmalade. I've been simmering for nine hours and I still have soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Turned out great ... added extra garlic as suggested and was happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina LoCicero Barton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
We love all types of chutney's, but not this one. Save your peaches for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I shared this with many friends, including my husband who has been eating chutney all his life and everyone raved about it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States