Spicy Peach Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
The chutney came out VERY runny. I even reduced it for much longer than the recipe called for I would probably use less vinegar, as it came out very vinegary(and I like vinegar). Also, next time I think I'll skip the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dls458

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Very good, though really thin. No one seems to mind that. Next time I will follow the hint for using pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I made this recipe as written. Delicious. The sweet fruit, sugar and vinegar is perfectly balanced and a surprise in the mouth. Many layers of flavors. Oh, the one thing I did change was I couldn't find my cheesecloth so I used tea balls for the pickling spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NeonDials
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
First, I made this as stated, except cooking time was more like 2h10m to get a proper thickness. Those who claim to have had to cook for hours upon hours must've used more than 4lbs of peaches. I didn't want to add pectin as gelatinous chutney seems wrong to me, though many reviewers seem to think that's an OK thing to do. The vinegar settles down nicely after processing and cooling. Only change I might make is to add a touch more curry and chili powder. Looking forward to trying this will grilled salmon, pork, and/or chicken. I got 7x 250ml (half pint) jars out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeonDials
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was unedible. The amount of vinegar in this is absolutely disgusting. 1/2 cup is more like it. 4 cups is disgusting. Wasted a whole triple batch of the recipe. My mistake for not testing it first I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
i have made this a few times now and it has turned out perfect every time. This recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Added additional peaches in the last hour. In the end, did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I'm usually generous on my ratings but this was a total bust. There was no peach flavor...far too much vinegar and the mustard seed in the finished product is a complete distraction..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Love this, became a quick favorite of mine and many friends. I double the recipe to have some on hand as easy hostess gifts. I felt the highest compliment I got for this came from my brother-in-law, who said he finally tried it after it sat for months on the shelf and then he ate the whole 1/2 pint with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Really good. Hubby brought back 2 pecks peaches from his trip to SC that were delicious but too many to eat. Made this and modified the recipe slightly to accommodate a low sugar need. Used 2 cups of splenda/brown sugar mix in place of all brown sugar. Also had a bag of dried tart cherries in pantry didn't know what to do with so I added them. This turned out soooo good. I ended up with 9- half pints. I used 4 lbs of sliced peaches, not 4 pounds of peaches sliced. Could be the difference. Next time I might add some dried apricot - he's in S. Carolina again and it's still peach season!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States