Spicy Party Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These are wonderful and incredibly addictive. I didn't even want to make dinner and wanted to just snack on these all night. I used garlic powder instead of the garlic salt and cooked these at 250 degrees for an hour and 15 minutes and they are so wonderful. Much better than storebought flavored pretzels and cheaper too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I used an entire bag of Snyder's waffle shaped pretzels (which hold alot more seasoning).Besides the ranch mix I also added dried parsley flakes and dried basil (which give them some color and more flavor) also substituted garlic powder for the salt.Halved the amount of oil and used only Olive Oil. Delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
A-MAZ-ING! I made these to take to a party last night & they were gone in a heartbeat. EVERYONE loved them and kept looking for the "crack in pretzel form". Yeah, they were seriously addicting. The changes I made were very minimal. First, I didn't realize my stock of veggie oil was low, so I used 1/2 a cup of that and 1/2 a cup of evoo. I mixed together all of the ingredients in a large bowl and let sit for 2.5 hours (stirring occassionally). After that time period the oils had soaked in, so I put the pretzels in the oven at 250 for 35 minutes & they came out PERFECT (I did stir them once or twice while they were in there). Honestly, you can't get much easier or cost friendly than this recipe. Next time the only thing I will do differently is to make sure I make a double batch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I have used a similar recipe for years as a fundraiser at school for cheerleading and as a Jr./Sr. Sponsor. The kids called them Mrs. W's Mexican Pretzels. Variation on the recipe: 20 oz. mini pretzels, 1 cup Canola oil, 1 pkg. Ranch Dressing Mix (3T), 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 heaping T cayenne pepper. Our school has a high Hispanic population and they like them caliente! Place pretzels in bag, combine ingredients and pour in bag, burp and close. Rotate bag until pretzels absord the canola oil - no cooking involved. The pretzels sell for 75 cents for a snack bag, 3.00 for a quart size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very good way to mix up the ordinary pretzel. Followed others advice and let them marinate/soak before baking. I used the extra thin pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe is excellent! The cost to make these is next to nothing. I use 3 bags of pretzels with this mix of coating. I use a 1/4 sheet baking pans I bought at Sams. I put a bag of pretzels in a bowl, coat with 1/3 cup of oil mix and put in the baking tray. I fit three in my oven and rotate them every 20 minutes for an hour and 20 minutes total at 200 degrees. I have people from work beg for these. It is the easiest secret recipe I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These are great, all five of our kids ate them up! It was a little salty though, next time I will cut the garlic salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
We were kind of underwhelmed by these (dh and I were). Two of the four kids really enjoyed them, the other two could take or leave them. I would make them again for the two kids who liked them because they really loved them (why I didn't do three stars instead of the four).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
The oven temperature and baking time has now been corrected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
They burned after only 20 minutes in the oven. I didn't have time to read the reviews before making but now I sure wish I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Isle, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Gibbon, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States