Spicy Party Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Addictive! We love these spicy pretzels. I have made them countless times and always follow the recipe exactly, only decreasing the cayenne pepper slightly, as we don't tolerate it very well. I bake in a roasting pan at 200 degrees for 2 hours, stirring every 15-20 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe and have been asked to share it every time I make them! The only change that I made was to use 1 1/2 pkgs of ranch mix. I took the suggestion of putting them in a bag and turning every 15 minutes for about and hour and a half; cooked at 250 for about 35 to 40 minutes turning them occasionally. I have no problem at all with them burning this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Newwife24
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was a super easy recipe!! I've done it a couple times and every time it's a hit. I used the Hidden Valley Ranch seasoning from a 8 ox container so I only added 2 1/2 cups (about a 2/3 of what's required), a little more cayenne pepper (I love hot foods) and the required garlic salt. Mixed it all in a bowl and baked it at 350 for 20 mins. Let them cool and put them in a ziplock bag to go. I was super pressed for time before work so I rushed it. It still was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
4 stars as 1 C oil to me, is way too much. I only used 11 oz of generic brand mini pretzels (saved some plain for da Mom). The first time I tried this out I used Hidden Valley Ranch brand and way less oil. No other salt based seasonings as the pretz have salt and so does the dry ranch packet. Anyway...2nd time I used Kraft brand dry ranch. I liked that better for some reason. I add a bit less cayenne but use garlic powder and added 1/4 tsp of True Lemon I have in a small canister. Also added a splash of Worcestershire and liquid smoke. I put pretzels in a gallon zip bag (after ridding any salt I can) and add maybe 1/3 C oil mixed w/seasonings into that. I flop it around every so often for two hours. Then I bake at 225 for 30 or so minutes. Turn oven off and allow pretz to sit until cooled off. I then pack into paper towel lined plastic containers w/lids. I've found if you can manage to leave em sit for a couple days...way more developed flavor. I liked adding a few other seasonings and the citrus. Mine were crisp and had a slight acidic punch by adding some pure lemon granules and were not oily at all. Yum! You can change this up to suit your own taste - easily. I don't think I'll ever eat a plain pretzel again, lol. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These are fantastic! They didn't last 24 hours!!! Letting them soak up the mixture in a ziplock bag for a couple hours before cooking helps the pretzels get more of the flavor I think. No more plain pretzels for us!! I am making more now and leaving out the garlic salt, then adding extra cayenne, a teaspoon of onion powder, a teaspoon of garlic powder, and a teaspoon of seasoned salt to up the flavor a little. Great little recipe as is, or you could easily customize it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
The bag idea for soaking the pretzels for a bit is a great idea - I'm confused though by the other reviews about burning and reducing the oven temp - the recipe says oven temp 200... Maybe the recipe was modified after their reviews? Anyway 200 is the perfect temp to bake them at - great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samuska7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe. The first time I made these, I followed the ingredient list as per the recipe. I did make two changes. I marinated them for 8-10 hours, and then I baked them at 200* for 30 minutes, stirring every 5-7 minutes. They were wonderful. I made them for a football game, and they were gone in no time. They are so addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Pretty tasty! I didn't use garlic powder because it was already in the Ranch dressing mix. I stirred them every 15 mins or so. These were a nice addition to game day nibbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
These are so delicious. Addictive actually. I like to use a mixture of butter and oil for more flavor and add a hefty dose of Sriracha because things are never hot enough for me. I use 20oz of waffle shaped pretzels (that shape seems to do a better job of "trapping" the seasoning).I bake them at 250 degrees for about 30 minutes, stirring halfway through and it seems to work fine. If not eating them immediately, I let them cool down before putting in a zipper bag, where the flavor seems to get better after a few days, in my opinion. One final note: I have been short on pretzels before and threw in a few Cheez-It's- worked great (I almost liked them better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I used 1/2 the cayenne pepper and they were still a bit to spicy for us. Will leave it out completely next time so the grandkids can enjoy them also - they were way too hot for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States