Spicy Party Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These are fantastic! They didn't last 24 hours!!! Letting them soak up the mixture in a ziplock bag for a couple hours before cooking helps the pretzels get more of the flavor I think. No more plain pretzels for us!! I am making more now and leaving out the garlic salt, then adding extra cayenne, a teaspoon of onion powder, a teaspoon of garlic powder, and a teaspoon of seasoned salt to up the flavor a little. Great little recipe as is, or you could easily customize it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
The bag idea for soaking the pretzels for a bit is a great idea - I'm confused though by the other reviews about burning and reducing the oven temp - the recipe says oven temp 200... Maybe the recipe was modified after their reviews? Anyway 200 is the perfect temp to bake them at - great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samuska7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe. The first time I made these, I followed the ingredient list as per the recipe. I did make two changes. I marinated them for 8-10 hours, and then I baked them at 200* for 30 minutes, stirring every 5-7 minutes. They were wonderful. I made them for a football game, and they were gone in no time. They are so addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Pretty tasty! I didn't use garlic powder because it was already in the Ranch dressing mix. I stirred them every 15 mins or so. These were a nice addition to game day nibbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
These are so delicious. Addictive actually. I like to use a mixture of butter and oil for more flavor and add a hefty dose of Sriracha because things are never hot enough for me. I use 20oz of waffle shaped pretzels (that shape seems to do a better job of "trapping" the seasoning).I bake them at 250 degrees for about 30 minutes, stirring halfway through and it seems to work fine. If not eating them immediately, I let them cool down before putting in a zipper bag, where the flavor seems to get better after a few days, in my opinion. One final note: I have been short on pretzels before and threw in a few Cheez-It's- worked great (I almost liked them better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I used 1/2 the cayenne pepper and they were still a bit to spicy for us. Will leave it out completely next time so the grandkids can enjoy them also - they were way too hot for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
You don't have to bake these. Just put the pretzels in a gallon size zip-log bag. Mix the other ingredients together in a small bowl and pour over the pretzels and seal the bag. Just turn the bag over about every 15 or 30 minutes for a couple of hours to make sure the pretzels are well coated. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this pretty close to the recipe, just cut down on the oil to 3/4 cup. I don't know where the 350 degree oven came from, but maybe the recipe was revised as most of the reviews I saw were very old. The cooking time at 200 needs to be watched, I just took the first batch out after 45 minutes and it's perfect. I took a large bowl mixed everything in and used my hands to stir the mix every 15 minutes for 45 minutes, the oil sits at the bottom and needs to come back to the top. Put in the oven and set it for 15 minutes and that way you always know to give the pretzels a mixing plus you get to see the progress. This is a darn good recipe with some very minor adjustments to taste. This was a trail batch and I'll make another for Christmas and New Years day...FOOTBALL...use more cayenne for more bite football fans!!...it's Mo' bettah'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
We loved them! You might want to use powdered garlic instead because they were a bit salty. And also, cut down the oil. Baked it at 250 for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Reduced oil to 1/4 cup...doesn't need anymore than that. Didn't bake, jut added liquids to pretzels in a zip lock bag and shook until mixed. Turned and shook the bad every 15 minutes until thoroughly mixed. Perfect and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States