Spicy Pakistani Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Really good, try adding 1/2 to 1 tsp of curry powder also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONPED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
We enjoyed the mix of flavors in this dish, and found the texture of the zucchini delightful. Unlike another reviewer, we found that the flavors bloomed in the refrigerator: the dish improved with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
We all loved this! I used 4 large squash, 2 were zucchini and 2 were yellow summer squash. Also, I was out of fresh tomatoes, so I dumped in a can of diced tomatoes with their juice and then reduced the water to 1 c. Also, I didn't see the need to seed the squash and I ended up cooking this more like 30 min so it would be nice and tender. It came out great, very colorful and flavorful. Served it over jasmine rice... will definitely make this again. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This dish was a delight for my husband and I. Since he used to be a vegetarian before he met me, I try to find some all veggie recipies for him. This turned out spicier than I thought it would, but is was fine for us. It does make a lot more than a two person meal; however and cutting the amounts that go into it will work, but it seems to be spicier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I made this last Ramadan and my family and I really liked it. I served it over basmaati rice which worked out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe is great, it got the thumbs up from my husband who is a picky eater. I used the ingrediants listed, but I changed the method to suit myself. I did saute the onions, then I dropped in garlic paste in place of the garlic powder (I didn't have any powder) saute the garlic. I then added in the zucchini stirred that a bit. I then added the rest of the spices and cooked that for a bit, then I added in the tomatoes cooked that for a bit, then added the water then the yogurt, cooked everything for about 5 minutes and then served with chopped cilantro. I will def. make this again and maybe even change the vegi. out for another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was quite good - following the suggestions of other reviewers, I cut the amount of oil in half and left out the water. I also used coconut milk instead of yogurt and used canned tomatoes. It is quick and easy and the spice combination is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsurfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Made a few minor changes: didn't peel or seed the zucchini, used canned tomatoes with juice instead of fresh tomatoes and water, and used a fresh pressed clove of garlic instead of powdered. I also added some yellow curry powder and cayenne pepper to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This was a great combination of flavors! I did cut the amount of oil in half, and it turned out to be PLENTY. I didn't bother to peel or seed the zucchini, and with the extra moisture, 2 cups of water was way too much. I cut it down to a scant 1/2 cup. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Easy to make! I followed other comments and only used 1/2c of water, that way the sauce wasn't too watery. I also added 1/2t of curry powder. The flavoring was good, but I didn't find it spicy at all, but I enjoy spicy food. I wondered if it would be more flavorful if reheated the next day. I served with Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes_14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States