Spicy Pakistani Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe is great, it got the thumbs up from my husband who is a picky eater. I used the ingrediants listed, but I changed the method to suit myself. I did saute the onions, then I dropped in garlic paste in place of the garlic powder (I didn't have any powder) saute the garlic. I then added in the zucchini stirred that a bit. I then added the rest of the spices and cooked that for a bit, then I added in the tomatoes cooked that for a bit, then added the water then the yogurt, cooked everything for about 5 minutes and then served with chopped cilantro. I will def. make this again and maybe even change the vegi. out for another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This tasted good, I eliminated water, reduced oil to 2 spoons, and put 3 tbspns yogurt for 2 zucchinis...turned out nice...had to cook it a little more than 10 minutes though, nice experiment with this vegetable which is hard to feed kids or adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ritz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Easy to make! I followed other comments and only used 1/2c of water, that way the sauce wasn't too watery. I also added 1/2t of curry powder. The flavoring was good, but I didn't find it spicy at all, but I enjoy spicy food. I wondered if it would be more flavorful if reheated the next day. I served with Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bobcaygeon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Made a few minor changes: didn't peel or seed the zucchini, used canned tomatoes with juice instead of fresh tomatoes and water, and used a fresh pressed clove of garlic instead of powdered. I also added some yellow curry powder and cayenne pepper to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was quite good - following the suggestions of other reviewers, I cut the amount of oil in half and left out the water. I also used coconut milk instead of yogurt and used canned tomatoes. It is quick and easy and the spice combination is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsurfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This sounded great, especially the combination of spices. But two cups was waaaay too much water, and the whole thing tasted watered down. I would recommend reducing or even eliminating the water - the zucchini and tomatoes both have a lot of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I served it with a dollop of yoghurt on top. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Good. Not spicy at all for our taste though. But unique blend of flavors. Nice change for zucchini recipe. I used only a tablespoon or two of oil and two eight-ball zucchinis and 1/2 cup of water but left the spices the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
We all loved this! I used 4 large squash, 2 were zucchini and 2 were yellow summer squash. Also, I was out of fresh tomatoes, so I dumped in a can of diced tomatoes with their juice and then reduced the water to 1 c. Also, I didn't see the need to seed the squash and I ended up cooking this more like 30 min so it would be nice and tender. It came out great, very colorful and flavorful. Served it over jasmine rice... will definitely make this again. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States